Skip to content

A Blast of Colour

February 8, 2010

It’s lovely to have some real winter again – snow for four weeks now, with more to come, and enough of it to get out the sledges and head off to Breakneck Hill (or, as it has recently been renamed, Breakbutt Hill).

Still, all this white gets kind of boring, and I’m glad the local Botanical Garden is having an orchid show again.  I think I’ve seen more impressive shows, and I definitely wish for more tags, but it is still wonderful to have colours.

Cymbidium. There used to be nicer varieties, but they were lost in a tragic incident I wish I could forget about.

Epidendrum and Cymbidium

Miniature Phalaenopsis

Miltonia

Some Lady’s Slippers

Phragmipedium bessaeae

Butterflies:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 06:51

    *sigh*

    There’s an orchid show this weekend, not particularly near us (Ames, which is roughly 2 1/2 hours away), that the husband and I had talked about going to, but instead we’ve got stupid contractors coming over to do stupid stuff in the stupid bathroom. I’m not particularly upset about the orchids, but there’s a weird organic-greenhouse-slash-antique-store there that I visited ages ago (Feb. 2007?) that I was kind of looking forward to visiting again, just because the guy there had a lot of stuff I hadn’t seen for sale elsewhere.

    There will be other opportunities (a closer orchid show at the end of March), but still.

    • February 9, 2010 20:03

      That store sounds interesting – wish I’d discover something weird and cool like that. But not having a driving license, I’m pretty limited in where I can go.

  2. February 10, 2010 17:05

    Oh my, another cool blog to visit! I just noticed that you have one up, Ivynettle. The orchid show looks lovely. I could use a nice visit to a conservatory right now; snow is a general fact of life around here, and I hate to drive in it.

    • February 10, 2010 18:53

      The current weather makes me quite happy I’m not driving (yet). Thankfully, we’ve got good public transport.

Leave a Reply

