Skip to content

Bring On Spring!

February 28, 2010

It’s been nice to have to have some real winter again – I think it’s been a couple of years since we had six solid weeks of snow. But now I’m definitely ready for spring.

This last week, it’s been thawing – there is still snow on the ground in the shadier places, but since we put the pansies, primroses and forced bulbs outside permanently at work (instead of carrying them back inside at night as we did last week) I decided it was time to fill my balcony planters again.

So I made use of my employee discount for the first time to get a few primroses, horned pansies, and some ‘Tete a Tete’ daffodils. I’m rather bored by the ubiquitous ‘Tete a Tete’, but they do have a nice bright colour.

When it was time to pay, the Clown Brother and my mother (who had come to pick me up) noticed the vases of tulips on the counter. “Do you want some?” said my boss, pulling out a whole bunch and giving them to us – for free. So spring has reached our dining table, too.

On Saturday, I woke to brilliant sunshine and birdsong – the kind of day that makes staying inside feel like a crime. So I grabbed the camera and went off to the botanical garden.

The snow was still thick on the ground in some places – 20 to 30 cm:

But if you knew where to look, there were a lot of flowers already:

Snowdrop (Galanthus nivalis):

Cyclamen:

The first crocuses:

Hellebore buds are finally coming up now that they’re no longer buried under a foot of snow:

The witch hazels (Hamamelis) are in full bloom:

And the Crocus ancyrensis – isn’t it absolutely beautiful?

It was the sort of day on which I totally understand why the birds are singing – I just had to sing myself, or I think I’d have burst with sheer happiness because it was such a beautiful day. Even knowing there will be lots of cloudy, wet, muddy days to come, when the world is brown and grey – for this one day there was sunshine, and flowers, and tiny bits of green, and the world so ful of beauty and life that all I could do was sing and laugh and skip.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mattisalomaki permalink
    March 2, 2010 04:13

    The White Hazel look crazy. I love those curly flowers trying to stretch out towards the sun.

  2. March 2, 2010 15:16

    I’m so jealous. We won’t see snowdrops for a long time still.

  3. Sarina permalink
    May 3, 2010 09:41

    Gardening in spring is a real fun as this season adds various color in my garden. I wish I could post photographs of my garden.

Leave a Reply

