Skip to content

Guerilla Buds!

March 17, 2010

I was going to spare you the pointy bits of green that will be daffodils and tulips… but then, on the way home from work, I spotted this near our back door:

    Three squills and a tulip

Three squills and a tulip

I’d entirely forgotten I’d planted bulbs under the Cornelian Cherry in the yard, and even if I’d remembered, I’d have had no idea what I’d planted. And I definitely didn’t expect buds quite yet. I think this is Scilla siberica, the Siberian Squill, and a species tulip* at the back.

So I locked up my bike, ran upstairs to grab the camera and wandered around the building.

Outside our front door, I found this:

    Clockwise from top left, as best as I can tell: daffodil, squill**, more daffodils, crocus, tulip, yet another daffodil; at the bottom edge of the picture: an iris

Clockwise from top left, as best as I can tell: daffodil, squill**, more daffodils, crocus, tulip, yet another daffodil; at the bottom edge of the picture: an iris

This was where I started my very first bit of Guerilla Gardening last Hallowe’en. Because, you know, what’s a balcony gardener to do with all those old flower bulbs? They might rebloom and they might not, but they’d take up space I’d so much rather use for new bulbs, and I can’t just throw them out.

    More tulips (love those striped leaves!) and daffodils with buds!

More tulips (love those striped leaves!) and daffodils with buds!

So I decided to use them to prettify the neighbourhood. While I was waiting for NaNoWriMo*** (I was determinded to start working on my novel at midnight), I figured I might as well use the last hour for some not-entirely-legal gardening. So at 11 PM on Hallowe’en, I grabbed my trowel and the bulb-basket, in which everything I’d bought or grown the past year was jumbled together.

    Two crocuses, two squills**, three grape hyacinths, a tulip, and an iris – with bud!

Two crocuses, two squills**, three grape hyacinths, a tulip, and an iris – with bud!

In front of every door in the building, I sneakily dug a hole and dropped in a handful of mixed bulbs. I love the excitement now of wandering around, trying to find all the patches and identify what’s growing there.

    Four crocuses, two tulips, a squill**, daffodil leaves and an iris bud (squished together in front of the left tulip) and a grape hyacinth with bud!

Four crocuses, two tulips, a squill**, daffodil leaves and an iris bud (squished together in front of the left tulip) and a grape hyacinth with bud!

Not to mention the pleasant surprise of discovering all these buds already – I guess the crocuses are actually blooming already, and by the time I get home from work they’ve just closed up for the night.

________________________________________

*I should have a list of what I grew last year, to look up just which species, but I’ll do that some other time when I’m not late for bed.

**Or maybe Tulipa tarda. I can’t quite tell yet.

*** National Novel Writing Month – a challenge to write a 50.000 words novel in the 30 days of November

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

