Skip to content

Collections Are An Evil Thing

March 26, 2010

I packed the camera this morning to get some picture-taking done after work, but soon noticed that without a memory card, the thing was useless.

No matter, I told myself, I’d go home briefly after work, get the card, change into nice clothes and treat myself to a nice evening out – at the garden centre.  Because, you see, running around the nursery like a slightly crazed bee all day is not enough – I’ve got to go plant shopping (or at least drooling over plants) at least once a week, too.

That part of the plan worked out OK.

The actual intention, though, was to get a picture of the latest vile idea – dyed orchids (more specifically, white Phalaenopsis, which I’m reasonably sure were watered with blue dye), which I’d seen there a week ago.

However, there weren’t any left, so I just wandered around the store for a bit, looking at stuff.

Nothing interesting in the houseplants department, which is just as well. Wouldn’t know where to put any more plants. Not that that’s ever stopped me from buying any. They did still have some Hoya kerriis, which are kind of interesting, but I’m not interested enough in the species to pay, what, €6 or 7 for 30 cm of bare stalk with couple of leaves at the bottom.

But then I wandered outside. I only briefly glanced at the pansies and primroses and forced bulbs, which I see quite enough of at work. No, there was something else I was looking for, something I knew I shouldn’t be looking at, because I would either be disappointed or unable to resist.

Ivies.

And while they had only had the boring standard stuff among the houseplants, they had several varieties among the groundcovers – even two that I didn’t have yet. So as usual it was, *pounce* – *grab* – *cuddle*

Resulting in dirt on my spring coat, which I was wearing for the first time this year. Damn.

But I had ivies. What does dirt on a sleeve matter when I have ivies?

As I walked back to the checkout, wind started to howl around the building, and agitated shop clerks started to talk about bringing stuff inside. Well, damn. And I was there by bicycle, in just a thin coat and a skirt. I’d actually thought earlier that it felt like there might be a thunderstorm later, and feared I’d get soaked on the way home.

On the upside, I didn’t get soaked. On the downside, I was half blinded by all the dust that was blown around, had to push my bike for about half the way because I litterally could not ride it without being blown into a fence or into the street, and ended up ripping my favourite skirt when it got caught in the bike chain.

Still, I’ve got these two beauties:

Hedera helix

That makes up for a bit of sewing, right?

I’ll have to take cutting soonish. I intend to re-do the entire ivy collection, and for that, I need smaller plants than these.

I’m indulging my obsession in other ways, too. I recently signed up at BookMooch to get rid of some of the books I won’t read again anyway, and get some books I might want to read more often, and among the first books I mooched from others were two on ivies. No idea whether they’ll be any good, but maybe I’ll get at least some cultivar names from them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 04:47

    I really like the one with the white center! Did either of them have cultivars attached? The more I look at the variegated one the more I’m loving it!

  2. March 27, 2010 11:56

    It’s a beauty, isn’t it? Sadly, no cultivar name – the sticker on the pot only says “Hedera, yellow-variegated cultivars”.

  3. March 29, 2010 05:02

    What a shame. It’s really pretty!

  4. April 3, 2010 23:43

    Sorry I’m a bit late to comment. I think the Ivy on the left is Hedera helix ‘Goldheart.’ Nice find!

    • April 4, 2010 13:50

      It’s possible, although what I’ve seen of ‘Goldheart’ so far (online and IRL) didn’t have quite this leaf shape.
      I think I need to sit down and do a lot of ivy-research anyway, to find at least some cultivar names.

Leave a Reply

