Skip to content

Things I Got Today

April 2, 2010

First, I got this from my boss:

Tulipa Cv.

I frequently get to take home cutflowers that are too old to be sold. I think these red tulips look really good in the blue vase.

Then this, also from my boss:

Raphanus sativus

Fresh, crunchy radishes. Yum! And not tasting bland and watery like the supermarket ones, either.

When I came home, I decided to celebrate Friday by a visit to the nearest garden centre. Just, you know, to look around.

As it always goes, I ran into ivies…

Hedera helix

The one on the right doesn’t look very interesting from a distance, but up close –

Hedera helix

I love all the different colours in these leaves.

I know I’ve already bought five other ivies this year, but in my defense, the ones I kept outside during the winter seem to be pretty seriously frost damaged, so I may have to rebuild my collection from scratch.

Then, there was this:

Dendrobium

I have no idea what this even is, which means I have no idea if I can even keep it alive, let alone happy. But in my defence:

half price

So it was less than € 6, which is pretty cheap for an orchid (I don’t think you get even the most boring Phalaenopsis for less then € 7), even if it won’t be blooming much longer (which was why it was marked down).

And I generally can keep plants alive, and most of them reasonably happy (as long as they don’t get spider mites), even if I seem to have problems with getting anything to re-bloom. So I’m sure this cute stranger and I will get along all right.

And lastly, these:

poppies

That’s Papaver rhoeas (Corn Poppies), Eschscholzia californica (California Poppy), and Papaver nudicaule (Iceland Poppy).

I absolutely adore poppies of all kinds, and stare longingly at the seeds every time I’m there, knowing that I have no space to grow them on the balcony. (Really? Really really? Sure I couldn’t find a tiny tiny corner?) But now, I’ve decided, it’s high time I stopped to put off my next guerilla gardening project. I think poppies will look lovely in the ugly, neglected planters down at the roundabout, and as far as I know, they’re pretty uncomplicated, so I hope I won’t have to go down to check on them too often.

And as I walked home, new guerilla gardening ideas started to take shape… But we’ll see how much more I’ll do this year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 02:15

    Your new orchid is a Dendrobium of some sort I think. Does it have tall bamboo-ish canes?

  2. April 4, 2010 13:44

    I did think of Dendrobium, too, from the shape of the stems. Will have to do some research.
    I discovered yesterday that the flowers are scented, too. Makes me love it even more.

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty Poppies « Letters & Leaves
  2. Discount Dendrobiums « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

