Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2010

April 15, 2010

The Phalaenopsis orchids in the living room planter are still blooming, not looking much different from when I got them:

Phalaenopsis Cv.

Another plant that got dumped into that planter because I had no other room for it is this gorgeous two-toned Easter Cactus (Rhipsalidopsis gaertneri):

Rhipsalidopsis

Not the best picture, but it’s hard to get a better one, since the flowers are already closing when I get home from work, and don’t open until after I leave.

Out in the staircase window, the Jasminum polyanthum (Pink (or White) Jasmine) isn’t looking to great, but smelling heavenly:

Jasminum polyanthum

Something was pushing up the fleece covering the propagation table – one of the cuttings of the ‘Heating Joseph’ pelargonium (Pelargonium zonale) is starting to flower:

Pelargonium zonale 'Heizungsjosef'

You aren’t really supposed to let cuttings flower until they’re well established, of course, so I’ll be removing the flower stalk soon.

My Oxalises are all sulking in this grey, rainy weather, except for one of the Purple Shamrocks (O. triangularis) that I recently moved outside:

Oxalis triangularis

I took this picture of the primrose (Primula vulgaris) on the balcony railing yesterday – should show you something about the lovely weather:

The weather was better today – the Horned Pansies/Violas (Viola cornuta) in the flower box I made for my mother’s juliet balcony actually got a bit of sunshine:

Viola cornuta

Talking about Horned Pansies, prepare for a lot of them as I show you the balcony:

The pots that will contain tomatoes  later in the year are filling out nicely – I’ll hate having to rip out those Horned Pansies when tomato time comes:

Viola cornuta

This Persian Buttercup (Ranunculus asiaticus) just got prettier as  it aged – it’s dropping petals, but I love the colour it’s turned:

Ranunculus asiaticus

This primrose is doing something odd – first it grew its flowers like a Primula vulgaris is supposed to, on individual stems, and then suddenly, it decided it’d rather have tall stems with flower clusters, like the Oxlips (Primula elatior). The primroses at work did the same for a while – I wonder what caused this…

Primula vulgaris

The railing planter yesterday, in the rain:

I like the sparkly raindrops, but I like it better today, with the Tulipa tarda blooming:

Viola cornuta, Tulipa tarda

I had to lean out over the railing to get this picture – I love the little faces on the Horned Pansies, and I absolutely adore the variety on the left (which, apparently is ‘Endurio Blue Yellow With Purple Wing’. What a creative name. Not.)

Matching colours:

Mingling colours:

Viola cornuta

Viola cornuta

‘Endurio Yellow With Violet Wing’ is one of my favourite varieties – the soft colours remind me of wild Viola tricolor (Heartsease).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 20:32

    I love orchids (they don’t love me). The ranunculus … WOW! Hard to pick a favorite from all these lovelies. Thanks!

  2. April 16, 2010 01:53

    Super cool container combos!

  3. Nature Assassin permalink
    April 16, 2010 06:53

    Doesn’t it seem counterintuitive to remove the blossoms from our plants? I guess that’s how you know you really love them! I recently removed a tiny flower spike from a newly-transplant Phalaenopsis, thinking I was doing it a big favor… then I realized it was a root. Killed with kindness!

    Your plants look lovely. If you’ve discovered the secret to growing Jasmine, clue me in!

  4. April 16, 2010 07:11

    Nature Assassin: Yeah, those roots and flower spikes can be hard to tell apart! I had the opposite situation recently, getting excited about what I thought would be flowers – turned out it was just a confused root growing upwards.

  5. April 17, 2010 16:10

    The pansies are so pretty, even in the rain:)

Leave a Reply

