Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – May 2010

May 15, 2010

Huh. Lucky I decided to check the date after all – I was so sure it wasn’t the 15th yet! Working so much is definitely messing with my brain!

The last of my Phalaenopsis flowers - they've been blooming for two months now here, plus however long they've been standing around at the shop before I adopted them, and the wholesaler's before that, and the nursery before THAT.

Lucky, also, that I checked the date in time to rush outside and take a picture of the horned pansies still blooming – I should be pulling them up by now to make space for the tomatoes and nasturtiums, but can’t bring myself to kill them yet.

Horned pansies (Viola cornuta). Not the best picture, but it's too dark to get a better one.

Since I haven’t done my May planting yet, I don’t have much in the way of summer flowers yet.  There are some fuchsias for the Juliet balcony:

I'm not, generally, too fond of fuchsias (seen too much of them, I guess), especially the large-flowered varieties, but I love the colours of this one.

Also, a Wishbone Flower currently residing in the bathroom because it was full of mildew and needed to be sprayed (Horsetail tea worked just beautifully).

 

Wishbone flower (Torenia fournieri) 'Purple Moon' - goodness knows why they call it purple, looks like the most beautiful blue to me.

There are also strawberries – the picture is another crappy one, but believe me, the flowers are awesome in person. Almost worth growing even without the promise of future fruits.

Fragaria x ananassa 'Fragoo F1 Deep Rose'

Heh, more  Rosaceae in the Rain!

If it stops raining for a bit, the Oxalis collection is looking quite lovely, too:

Lots of Purple Shamrock (Oxalis triangularis or O. regnellii - I can't figure out if there is a difference, and if so, what's what, but I definitely have two different purple ones), Silver Shamrock (Oxalis adenophylla) and Pink Wood Sorrel (Oxalis articulata)

And…

Well, in fact, that’s it. No more flowers in our flat or on the balcony. Sad.

I’m not really all that fond of May, anyway. Not just because work is crazy, crazy, crazy, but also because some flowers are already dying again… no matter how many other flowers are just beginning to bloom, I still feel sad about those that are gone. Not to mention those that I have to kill to make room for the summer plants, much as I love my tomatoes – May is a bittersweet time for me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 22:10

    Your Fuschia is just lovely! I don’t know what that flower form is called, but it’s my favorite for Fuschias. I’m starting an Oxalis collection too, but not on purpose. They are such neat plants.

Leave a Reply

