Skip to content

From Granny’s Garden

July 12, 2010

Back in April, I was happy when it was warm enough to take off my shoes when we visited my grandparents.

Now, in July, it is so hot I had to do my wandering-around and picture-snapping in nothing more than a swimsuit.

Let’s start off the tour with my trademark plant:

Ivy (Hedera helix) near the front door

Japanese Creeper (Parthenocissus tricuspidata) trailing down over the garage door

Grapevine (Vitis vinifera) reaching out from the corner of the house

An apple tree turned strawberry tree

Rose climbing into the Japanese Maple (Acer palmatum 'Atropurpureum'

Trailing Abutilon (Abutilon megapotamicum)

Hollyhock (Alcea rosea)

Potato vine (Solanum jasminoides)

Clematis, just unfolding

One of the beautiful, but almost impossible-to-photograph things about my grandparents’ garden is the view of the mountains.

Roses at the garden fence, looking out over meadows to a walnut tree, chapel and the mountains beyond

Hanging basket with Black-Eyed Susan Vine (Thunbergia alata), and more of the mountains

And lastly, my two favourite pictures:

Zonal Pelagonium (Pelargonium zonale). I'm not very fond of them (although they smell of childhood to me - we must have had them when I was little), but there's something elegant in this one single flower.

Black-Eyed Susan Vine (Thunbergia alata)

Leave a Reply

