Skip to content

Tomato Tales, Part 2

September 11, 2010
tags:

Things haven’t really gotten better since part 1.

I’ve had to throw out the trailing tomato, since there were hardly any fruits left, and it was looking so ugly, with all that spider mite damage, that I couldn’t even be bothered to wait for the remaining few to ripen.

The red currant tomatoes still taste bitter – not as strongly as they used to, eating one or two is OK, but after more, I have to get some bread to get the taste out of my mouth.

And there are spider mites on all the tomatoes now, along with the thrips I’ve had for a while.

They look quite horrible, with all those critters munching away on them.

But then again: When I took the cat for a walk yesterday, I looked at the balconies in our building – there are four more with tomatoes on them, and they’re all small, starved plants, not half as big or bushy as mine, which are growing all over the glass wall on one side. Makes me feel quite successful in comparison.

Talking about that glass wall, I think that’s one of the problems the tomatoes had this year, because it traps all the heat, and blocks air circulation – as soon as I have my own balcony, I’ll put the tomatoes along the railing instead.

Talking about success, today’s harvest:

Not a very tasty harvest, sadly – except for ‘Dattelwein’, the yellow ones in the bottom of the bowl – but at least something.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 17:44

    Aw, sorry about your tomatoes!

  2. September 13, 2010 21:08

    It’s OK – I still got a bit of a harvest, and there’s always next year. I’ve got seeds already, wheee! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

