Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – September 2010

September 15, 2010

So, now I’ve done it. I’ve gone and bought new plants just so I’ve got something to show for GBBD. All right, it would be fairer to say that Bloom Day just provided additional motivation to replace some old and ugly flowers, but still… buying and planting on the 15th…

But let’s look at what I’d already got, first:

My Ceropegia sandersonii seems to be quite happy in the living room window:

I’m still fascinated with those flowers:

Back on the Juliet balcony, the strawberries are still in full bloom – they seem much happier now the weather has cooled down:

I’m still getting the occasional forest strawberry, but I don’t have much hope for the regular garden strawberries – I don’t think it’ll be warm long enough for them to ripen.

On the balcony, there are roses – not my own, really, but blooming bravely after I have, it seems, defeated the spider mites. (Temporarily, anyway.)

I haven’t had any luck at all with my morning glories this year, but the Black-Eyed Susan Vine (Thunbergia alata) I planted in the same pot is doing… not well, either, but OK, and although it never made it higher than the top of the railing, it provides the occasional flower in that corner:

Neither the Abutilons nor the Pelargonium had any presentable flowers. In fact, the Pelargonium has never looked presentable all summer. Silly thing. If it weren’t for the  amusing name and history of that particular plant, I’d throw it out.

The Oxalises, on the other hand, look perfectly presentable, are blooming wonderfully (the articulata, triangularis and spiralis subsp. vulcanicola, anyway) – but only when I’m at work. And they’d make such a nice background for the Bog Sage (Salvia uliginosa) – that bright blue against the pink of O. articulata is stunning. But of course, when I saw it during the weekends, I never remembered to take a picture.

So here is the Sage, instead, among the spent flower spikes of the Agastache:

There are a few flowers on the arugula, which, I suppose, isn’t really anything to brag about (but they’re yummy), and a embarrassingly small Pentas lanceolata, of which I only have a blurry picture (and I’m too lazy to go and take another one), and a few flowers on my lantana tree, which I cut back before going on holiday, and which has only now grown back enough to bloom again:

And finally, my new plants – I finally threw out the moss roses (Portulaca grandiflora) today and put new flowers into the railing planter:

Yes, I know, for all the fuss I made, they’re neither all that special plants, nor is it a particularly good picture – but you try taking a better one with my camera, at dusk (it wasn’t actually as dark as the picture makes it look). And the selection of horned pansies (Viola cornuta) at work is still rather limited, and the plants are quite small. The Cyclamen are nice – I don’t like the regular ones, those fat plants with their big flowers, but these small ones are cute. The first ones I ever bought for myself, though – out of sheer desperation because we didn’t have any Violas I liked.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Horned Pansies are quite interesting, too – I’m not too fond of the colour or patterning, but I’ve noticed they change colour – new flowers are white in the centre, and the outer part is dark purple, but the older they get, the purple grows paler, while the centre becomes increasingly blue.

*~*~*~*

As always, thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting the Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

I scribbled ‘GBBD’ on the back of my hand before I went to work today, so I wouldn’t forget to buy and plant those flowers, and write this post, and was much amused by imagining a customer looking at my hand and saying, ‘Oh, you’ve got a garden blog?’ Not that this is ever likely to happen – there’s a bigger chance of me packing my bags, getting on a train, and sending my boss a postcard that says, ‘Sorry, not coming to work any more, I’m off travelling the world.’ I can’t imagine there’s more than a handful among my 8 million fellow Austrians who read English-language garden blogs, and what’s the chances of two of them meeting in a random teeny-tiny village nursery? I’d sooner win the lottery (and I’m not even playing.)

Still, it was fun to imagine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 21:39

    You have some fine choices here. I agree that Ceropegia sandersonii is stunning. A little copy and paste here. No way was I going to try to spell that one. It is a beautiful flower. Never heard of it before.

    • September 16, 2010 07:12

      Yes, it can be a daunting name, that – my problem is not that I can’t spell it, though, it’s that I can’t remember it – I always go through a whole list of names starting with ‘C’, and when I’ve got ‘Ceropegia’, I can never remember if it is ‘sanderi’ or ‘sanderiana’ or ‘sandersonii’…

  2. September 18, 2010 03:41

    I hope you saw that you were a winner once again this week in my plant puzzler. You didn’t get as many bragging rights as Martha, but to be fair, she was first. Haha, thanks for playing.

    I really appreciate your visits!

Leave a Reply

