Skip to content

Tomato Flag

October 26, 2010
tags:

I’m not usually patriotic – our national holiday today interests me only insofar as it’s a day I don’t have to work – but when I looked at this big white tomato, and the ordinary red ones, I couldn’t resist making an Austrian flag out of them.

White tomatoes are a lot of fun. I made sauce out of one last week (they’re huge beefsteaks, so one is quite enough), and even I couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that this was a tomato sauce even though it wasn’t red. I’d taste it and think, ‘but it tastes like tomato – oh wait, it is a tomato sauce!’ I really need to cook this for someone who doesn’t know there are white tomatoes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

