Skip to content

Hibernation Time!

October 29, 2010
tags:

OK, not really. There’s lots still to do in the next couple of months, such as writing a novel and moving. But I’m no longer working.

Today was my last day at the teeny-tiny village nursery, for this year at least. I’ll be back there next spring. But for now, there’s no work for me any more, so I get to sit at home and read, write, knit, play with my plants, and hopefully write all those blog posts I had planned before I killed my internet. When I’m not working, it should be easier to find the time to use the Carpenter Brother’s computer.

I know being unemployed isn’t something to be happy about. But I can’t help being glad to have time for myself. To see no stupid customers for a while, who spend half an hour looking at about two hundred different chrysanthemums, saying, ‘but do you think this one looks nice? Will it really last until All Saints’ Day? But this one has more buds, doesn’t it? Don’t you think I should take this one? Or maybe the one over there?’

To be fair, those are the exceptions, most were quick and pleasant, but those few still made me want to scream.

And no more floral arrangements for All Saints’ Day. I rather dislike floristry, and I’ve spent the past week making things like these (picture from Wikipedia, I didn’t have time or inclination to take pictures):
Ewigkeitssonntag Grabschmuck

These are put on graves for All Saints’ Day. I think ours look nicer, and they’ve been surprisingly easy and almost fun to make (especially since my boss’ wife is fun to work with, and doesn’t care for this any more than I do, so we spent our days mocking both our arrangements and our customers.)

But I’m glad I don’t have to see or make another one of them for a year. It’s odd, I can spend weeks and weeks at the potting machine, doing the same thing over and over, and don’t get bored, but I make three arrangements and I’m bored out of my mind.

But it’s over now. Time to curl up in my cave and sleep and dream… or maybe only dream of sleep while I work on my NaNoWriMo novel.

____________

ETA: I just noticed this is post #100! Whoo! I’m not really too fond of round numbers like that (I think 111, for example, is a much nicer one), but it’s still nice to notice I’ve reached the triple digits.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

