Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – November 2010

November 15, 2010

Still going strong: Horned Pansies (Viola cornuta 'Rocky Purple/Face' and 'Rocky Sunny Side Up') and Cyclamen (C. persicum) in the balcony planter

I know, I know: Not much of a garden blog these days. But what’s a girl to do? It’s November. I gotta write a novel!

Refusing to succumb to the cold: Volcanic Sorrel (Oxalis spiralis subsp. vulcanicola) and Pink Sorrel (O. articulata)

Purple Shamrock (Oxalis triangularis, with some O. tetraphylla leaves)

So much for the balcony. Inside, it’s Schlumbergera time:

The reddish Thanksgiving Cactus was almost certainly a passalong from my mother, and her plant might have been a cutting from my grandmother's - I'll have to compare colours the next time I get to the grandparents' place. Behind it, the Ceropegia sandersonii is still putting out the occasional flower.

'Limelight Dancer' This isn't actually blooming any more right now, but I'll include it anyway.

My latest purchase - I bought it on Friday as a reward for finally getting my driving license.

I’m not too sure that buying myself a new Thanksgiving Cactus every year is a good idea, but they’re pretty. And I need flowers this time of year.

~*~*~

Thanks as always to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting GBBD.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 16:41

    Oh my god that last cactus is gorgeous! I love Christmas, Thanksgiving, and Easter cacti. Anything that blooms that easy and with so much force has to be a good thing! It’s also good to see the Ceropegia is still doing well.

  2. November 15, 2010 18:26

    Love the pansies!! the foliage on your first schlumbergera looks more like Schlumbergera x Buckleyi than the thanksgiving varieties? L

  3. November 16, 2010 03:22

    Nice pics! We must be kindred spirits in regards to the Schlumbergera!

  4. November 16, 2010 18:01

    @ theatrumbotanicum: I think the Ceropegia doesn’t like the shorter and darker days too much – it’s almost stopped blooming – but I think it’s still happy enough with me.

    @ Larry: To be honest, I’m always kind of confused about which Schlumbergera is what. And mostly, I’m too lazy to try and find out.

    @ goodtogrow: Who doesn’t love them? Anyone who doesn’t have one blooming or at least budding this time of year must be a very strange person.

Leave a Reply

