Skip to content

Oh, Not Again!

December 9, 2010

I’ve already killed some plants by leaving them outside too long. And now, I also damaged some others by leaving the window open too long. I usually open it for a couple of minutes while I brush my teeth in the morning and at night, but either I dawdled some time this week, or it was colder than usual, and I don’t have enough free space on my desk or windowsill or even the floor to move the plants as far from the open window as I usually would in winter. In any case, my Ficus elastica now has several leaves looking like this:

Ficuses and I don’t get along too well recently (scale, leaf drop, mouldy soil, unexplained deaths…), so this should be no surprise. This was the last Ficus that wasn’t already making trouble.

But what’s worse: My Dracaena fragrans (previously, deremensis) – I’m still not quite sure of the variety name, possibly ‘White Surprise.

That’ll take a long time to grow out. All the leaves down one side are damaged.

I shudder to think what will happen in the course of moving. Luckily, it’s only a short distance, but it still makes me nervous. And even without the cold, my plants are suffering enough – I couldn’t remember where I put the spare saucers, so the newest purchases are standing on folded newspapers instead, and nothing gets watered because I’m too busy cleaning my kitchen and painting ceilings and ripping off ugly wallpaper, and half of the plants fall over every time I touch them because they’re too tall for their pots, but there’s no chance they’ll be repotted before January.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 02:26

    Ouch! Those Dracaenas are really unforgiving when they get damaged leaves. Drive me crazy!

Leave a Reply

