Skip to content

Argh!

January 9, 2011
tags:

I just discovered the first serious moving damage to one of my plants – the Cyperus alternifolius which is still in my mother’s kitchen dried out completely a couple of days ago. It needs quite a lot of water every day, and if I’m not there to check on it…

It had just grown back so nicely from a previous drought damage, and now it’s all yellow.

No pictures, because the computer and the camera are not in the same place, and anyway, it’s depressing.

At least it looks like it’ll grow back again. Still – argh! Scheißverdammter Mist – sorry, but some things can only be properly expressed in ones native language. 😉

And there I just looked at a much larger Cyperus yesterday and told my friend I wondered how much longer it would take for mine to grow that big. And I deliberately left it with my mother so that it wouldn’t dry out while I go away for a workshop next week. I hope the rest of the plants will cope with me being gone for four days – they’re demanding a lot more water than they used to, having been moved from a rather chilly* north-facing room to well-heated, south-facing ones. But I think most have adapted to it by now.

_____________

*the low temperature was mostly intentional, though lately it got colder than I’d have liked because moving boxes were stacked in front of the radiator

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 15:45

    oOOOoooOOoo You’re south facing now? I’m jealous. That stinks about the Cyperus but I’m sure it’ll grow back. Good luck!

    • January 11, 2011 15:56

      Heh. I expect plenty of spider mites, but I suppose I can move the plants back a little in the summer. Or put a curtain between them and the glass. Or something.
      But it’s soooo nice to have light (at least, I would if it weren’t so cloudy all the time)!

      • January 14, 2011 04:03

        Plant benefits aside just living in an apartment with good light is so…uplifting. My apartment has windows on three sides and it’s heavenly!

      • January 16, 2011 16:22

        Yeah, like I said, it’s so nice to have light – I’ve spent the last 2.5 years in a north (or nearly north)-facing room – I had sunlight for a few minutes a day for about three weeks around the summer solstice.
        It wasn’t just depressing, I often didn’t even wake up until 1 or 2 PM because I didn’t notice it was day already!

  2. Ginny Burton permalink
    January 11, 2011 19:52

    It’s pretty easy to rig up a self-watering system. Depending on the size of the plant, you can fill anything plastic with water and put a tiny pinhole at the bottom. For a small pot, use a plastic soft drink bottle. For a really big plant, and for an extended absence, I fill a plastic garbage bag and tie it to the trunk at the top of the bag while shaping the bottom to curve around the trunk inside its pot. Make sure the holes are tiny and that they sit directly on the soil.

    • January 16, 2011 16:24

      Thanks for the tip, Ginny! I might try it for the Cyperuses when I go away for a few days again … but then again, I want to get a cat again, and if I have to ask someone to feed the cat, they might as well water a few plants.

Leave a Reply

