Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2011

January 16, 2011

I think this is the first time I’m a day late for GBBD in the year I’ve been participating now. It’s not my fault – I’ve been at a workshop at the other end of Austria, and even if I’d had internet access already, I wouldn’t have been able to write a post after 2 hours of sleep and a six-hour train ride.

And not all of what’s blooming has made its way to my place yet. Some of it is still at my mother’s place, and I haven’t been able to get a picture of it until today.

The first blooming plant that made it to my place was a pink Schlumbergera my grandmother gave me when we visited her after Christmas. I think I’d asked her for a cutting of her huge plant, and she said she already had rooted ones, and ended up giving me a nice big plant.

Sadly, there was only one flower left when I came home.

Now I know that my oldest Schlumbergera is not descended from Granny’s plant. I’m reasonably sure it is a cutting from a plant my mother used to have, but wasn’t sure if that hadn’t been in turn a cutting from her mother’s. But as you can see in this post, my old plant is much redder.

The only other flowering plant at my place is this Hippeastrum:

It’s a miniature amaryllis (‘Kolibri’ series) – the flowers aren’t all that much smaller than those of a normal-sized plant, but the bulb definitely is – I think it’s in a 10 cm/ 4 inch pot. Usually a good-sized Hippeastrum bulb is bigger than the entire pot! However, according to the tag this was supposed to be pink, not white. Also, I don’t like doubles much.

At my mother’s place, the Pelargonium I’m overwintering is nearly leafless and ugly-looking, but blooming:

And the rosemary is not only still alive this year (I’ve already killed four plants, two by trying to overwinter them outdoors, and two by letting them dry out when overwintering them indoors), but blooming, too. It’s kind of mean, because I would like to eat it, but I don’t want to pinch off the flowers or buds, so I can only take individual leaves for now – but it’s so pretty:

For more flowers, as always, head over to May Dreams Gardens. There are Carol’s own flowers, and links to many many more around the world. (And I’ve just discovered that thanks to my delayed posting, I’m #111 on the list – I like that number!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 19:36

    I love that your family hands down houseplants from generation to generation. That’s awesome!

    • January 19, 2011 22:23

      We hand them back ‘up’, too – if I’ve got cuttings of something I think they’ll like, my mother and grandmother get some, too. In one case, Granny even got back cuttings of a plant she originally gave to me when I was little.

  2. January 16, 2011 21:22

    If only you lived in the US I have a few amaryllis I’d trade in a heartbeat for that lovely double white!

    • January 19, 2011 22:21

      Yeah, that being-on-different continents thing really gets in the way sometimes!

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty After All « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

