Skip to content

A Horde of Happy Hippeastrums

January 19, 2011

I’ve been a bit shocked to discover how many amaryllises I have.

My bedroom window, on a rare sunny day.

Admittedly, not all of them are mine – three belong to my mother, but we’re not quite sure whichthree – I forgot to tag some of them while they were in bloom, and when I repotted them recently* I forgot to tag the new pots. Then again, not all of mine are there yet, either – one little baby plant, an offset from one of my older ones (and of course I don’t know which one, either the red or the red-and-white) is still at my mother’s place.

About half of them are sending up flower stalks. I remembered to let them go dormant this year, and a little after Christmas, they all decided it was time to grow again. A few of the oldest and most starved bulbs don’t seem to have the strength to flower. All right, I can accept that. What drives me crazy is that my newest bulb, a big, fat and supposedly pink one, is growing nothing but big fat leaves. What do I buy new bulbs for? I can get leaves from the old ones just fine. They’re not that pretty that I need to have more!

I’m tempted to buy another one to make up for this disappointment, but I won’t. I have a rule about seasonal blooming plants that says I’m not allowed to get more than one variety a year (though I can bend the rule  somewhat. Strictly speaking, I’m just not allowed to buy more than one. I don’t have to turn down passalongs, gifts or work rescues… which is a good thing, because I would have one flower stalk less this year if it weren’t for the pale red one I saved from being thrown away.)

____________
* I had not planned to repot anything until I had more or less finished moving and had built my work table, but they all decided to start growing, and I couldn’t let them do that in that old, old potting mix.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 15:19

    A ‘horde’, that’s just the perfect word.
    I thought of a ‘bevy’, like in beauties or larks, but horde is much better.
    I was under the impression that you could leave them in their previous pots, compost and all. In fact, I am tempted to take some out of their trays and grow them in water, like indoor hyacinths.

    Allow me to show off (I am not often successful 🙂 with my fifteen which are now resting but were the apple of my eye.


    My Horde of Hippies

  2. January 25, 2011 10:37

    I guess you could, but they’ve been in those pots and that compost for years, so they really needed fresh compost and new, non-ugly pots.
    I guess growing them in water would work, but it might make feeding them a bit more difficult – and they need to be fed if you want to have them bloom for several years. My mother and I both weren’t too diligent about feeding, and some of the older bulbs have shrunk to about plum size, and have no strength left to bloom.

    I wish I could figure out how to comment on your blog, because those throghs are gorgeous – I especially love the ‘Picotee’s!

Trackbacks

  1. More Like Guidelines Anyway « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

