Skip to content

Frozen Ficus

January 25, 2011
tags:

There’s really only one word to say to this picture: Why?


But of course I’m saying more. As two separate people put it on two separate occasions (and since those people have never met, I must assume it’s true), first I don’t talk at all, and once I start,  I never shut up.

So what I’m going to say is, this is a thorougly dead variegated Ficus benjamina standing in the snow on a traffic island near here. It’s been there for a while – I’ve seen it repeatedly on my frequent trips to the DIY store (which are as much due to the fact that they have some lovely Dendrobiums and I’m waiting for them to wind up on the discount rack when they’re nearly done blooming as to the fact that I need stuff for my furniture repair projects). And every time, I wonder: why? Apart from the obvious, why would anyone kill a plant, there’s also the fact that a Ficus of that size wouldn’t sell under € 20 (OK, 19.99), and it looks newly bought.

I don’t know if it was actually killed by being left out in the cold… might have dried up first, I don’t know. I didn’t investigate (it was too cold for that, and I didn’t feel like wading through the snow… and admittedly, I already felt slightly odd taking pictures of a dead plant on a traffic island…). But no matter what’s the cause of death, why put it there?

***

In other news, I finally have internet access here in my very own Nettle Nest, which has meant a drop in my productivity level while I catch up with my online life, but which also means I’ll find it easier to post since I don’t have to walk over to my mother’s to do it, but I haven’t yet picked up the flash drive with my picture-editing software (which I can’t install on the laptop because if I do, the DVD drive doesn’t work. Crazy but true! The wretched thing woulnd’t even allow me to deinstall it and I had to do a system restore to get the DVD drive to work again!), so the picture-heavy posts about yesterday’s trip to the botanical garden will have to wait.

And I’m considering making a trip to an orchid show on either Thursday or Saturday, since it seems the botanical garden won’t have one this year. I’m not overly interested in orchids, really, but getting out and among people will do me good.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 23:12

    Gasp! Ficus murder!

  2. January 26, 2011 02:11

    It looks like it froze to death. Any other means of death and that baby would have dropped every leaf faster than you can say Variegated fig tree.

    • January 26, 2011 08:42

      Which just makes it all the more confusing… I mean, doing something random with an already-dead plant, like putting it out there as ‘decoration’, I could understand. But spending € 20 just to kill it…?

  3. January 26, 2011 02:12

    I’m really not sure why I capitalized variegated. Forgive me?

Leave a Reply

