Skip to content

February Calendar Picture

February 1, 2011

This picture was actually taken in February:

A Camellia from the local botanical garden. Looking at it now, I’m not too sure why I chose this picture – I know I have better pictures, of more interesting varieties.

Camellias aren’t too common outside botanical gardens here – from what I’ve read, they’re fussy. Haven’t tried it myself, and I don’t think I will any time soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Virginia Burton permalink
    February 1, 2011 15:14

    My camellia isn’t fussy, or it would be dead by now. It’s about 20′ tall and within a month or so should be covered in deep rose colored blossoms. Right now the buds are all covered in ice, but that doesn’t seem to bother it.

    • February 1, 2011 16:25

      I guess outdoors they’re not so bad – but I think where I live, it’s a bit too cold for them, so they have to kept indoors in winter, and I – like most people – don’t have a room that’d be cool enough for them.

Leave a Reply

