Skip to content

January at the Botanical Garden, Part 1: Snow

February 7, 2011

Yeah, I know that…

… I should have posted that last month.

… you’re all probably sick of snow by now. I’m… well, not really sick of snow, but sick of being cold, sick of having to dress warmly – I’m so ready for sunshine, flowers, singing birds, for running outside in skirts and without shoes…

But the last time I went to the Botanical Garden (which I’ll try to do at least once a month this year), was just after it had snowed all night, and whatever else it is, snow sure is pretty!

 

I love the pattern the snow makes on this tree - it looks like it's been painted on!

Some kind of bamboo

A barberry bush

 

Some kind of hardy cactus. While I've known for years that these exist, seeing them covered in snow still always fascinates me. It's hard to shake that association of cactus=desert=always hot!

Some sort of Japanese Maple. I love these any time of year - such pretty little trees!

Despite all the snow - spring is on it way! This witch hazel is just waiting for the next couple of warm days! (I should go check on it again - I bet the flowers have opened more in the two weeks since I took these pictures.)

 
Part 2: Camellias
Part 3: Orchids and Butterflies

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 03:45

    I love hardy cacti! I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’m really into them from my posts on them…I think what you saw there is a cylindropuntia or cholla (the common name). Those pictures sure are pretty!

    • February 8, 2011 07:44

      Thanks! I’m not sure if there was a tag…. if there was, it was snowed in.

Trackbacks

  1. January at the Botanical Garden, Part 2: Camellias « Letters & Leaves
  2. January at the Botanical Garden, Part 3: Orchids and Butterflies « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

