Skip to content

Birthday Party

February 11, 2011

I completely forgot this blog turned a year old on February 1st!

I did not forget, however, that it was exactly a year ago that I visited my old workplace and came home with a bunch of cuttings. I’ve been meaning to check how much of those plants are still alive for a while now, and what better day to do this than their first birthday?

This is the picture I posted a year ago:

clockwise, from top left: Tetrastigma voinierianum, Plectranthus (Solenostemon) scutellarioides 'Inky Fingers', Begonia serratipetala, Chlorophytum comosum 'Bonnie', Schlumbergera x buckleyi, Chlorophytum orchidastrum, Plectranthus (Solenostemon) scutellarioides 'Kiwi Fern', Pelargonium zonale. Middle: more Plectranthus (Solenostemon) scutellarioides 'Wizard Scarlet' (?)

Here is what they look like today:

Again, clockwise from top left: Tetrastigma voinierianum, Plectranthus (Solenostemon) scutellarioides 'Inky Fingers', Begonia serratipetala, Chlorophytum comosum 'Bonnie', Schlumbergera x buckleyi, Pelargonium zonale 'Heating Joseph', Chlorophytum orchidastrum

I’m not too impressed with that. Of the four Tetrastigma cuttings, only two survived, and those hardly grew because I never watered them enough, and fertilizer… ahem. Let’s not talk about that.

Of all the coleuses, only ‘Inky Fingers’ survived… and to be honest, I don’t even know if two I have are even the cuttings in the first picture, or cuttings of another plant I already had at home at the time, which wasn’t looking too great, so I was planning to throw it out, but it recovered. It was one of the few plants that did well on the balcony last year, and those two plants are probably actually cuttings from that plant. Definitely my favourite coleus.

The Begonia isn’t looking too happy… it had the same problems as the Tetrastigma, which is to say, my utter laziness when it comes to watering and feeding, and dropped all of its lower leaves until it was just two long bare stalks with a few leaves at the top. I just chopped those tops off and stuck them in water to root, and the bottom parts are already resprouting, I guess because I’ve been watering more often since I’ve moved.

‘Bonnie’ is looking a bit skinny and not very curly because it spent most of the last year in my damned dark room. I hope it’ll do better now that it’s in a south window.

The Schlumbergera cuttings were enough to make two plants, both of which are looking quite happy. One even bloomed.

The Chlorophytum orchidastrum (or C. ‘Fire Flash’ or ‘Green Orange’ or whatever you want to call it) has hardly grown and is looking a little pale, too. Again, little light and less fertilizer.

And the Pelargonium, I must admit, isn’t even the same one as the cuttings in the first picture. I managed to kill those, and had a friend bring me replacements. Same variety, though, and just a few weeks younger.

For their birthday, almost all of them got a new pot and potting mix, and all got fertilizer. And two got beheaded… or had a baby, depending on how you look at it. I do hope that, in combination with much better light, will motivate them to put on a growth spurt – this time next year, they’d better have outgrown my little table!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 05:27

    My Tetrastigma just kind of sits and does nothing too…I’m horrible about remembering to water it. I potted it into way too big of a pot so I think it’s spending too much time trying to grow new roots. The Begonia looks like it will be really pretty if you start to take care of it… If you start to water the orange Chlorophtyum it should take off, I had one that grew like a weed whenever I watered it and did nothing the rest of the time. It got to the point where it was completely leafless and it just sprang back to life once I watered it.

  2. February 12, 2011 08:37

    I hope I’ll continue to be better about watering them – I’ve been better since I moved (mostly because with the south windows, some plants were constantly screaming for water, and while I was already at it, the rest got something too. Hopefully I’ll keep that up when I start working again!
    And yup, the Begonia is pretty awesome… when it’s happy.

Leave a Reply

