Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – February 2011

February 15, 2011

On to my second year of GBBD!

The rosemary, now standing in the kitchen, is still blooming a bit:

As are the two Dendrobiums (D. bigibbum?) I picked up two weeks ago:

The flowers on the first stalk on the Hippeastrum cybister ‘Lima’ have already died, but the ones on the second stalk have just opened. Only two flowers, but under the circumstances (it had grown all those three stalks lying in a box in the store, without soil or water), that’s OK.

I’ve actually given away the ‘Blue Pearl’ Crocus on Sunday – I needed a present for my grandfather, so I grabbed that pot. It’s one of the far too many pots of flower bulbs I’ve still stored on my mother’s balcony, and the first one I brought inside when I found I needed some spring flowers.

After I’d given away the ‘Blue Pearl’, I brought in two more pots of crocus bulbs on Sunday night, two ‘Zwanenburg Bronze’s – I wanted two different ones, but for some reason could only find that variety.

And after less than two days in the living room, they’re already looking like this:

Not quite a flower yet, but almost, almost – they’ll definitely be ready to serve as table decoration when I get guests on Friday.

And my windowless and therefore plant-less bathroom is temporarily being brightened up by a Valentine’s Day gift from my aunt:

I actually bought that vase specifically for that purpose – those ugly green-brown tiles just make it absolutely necessary to add something colourful – but so far I’ve always been too cheap to buy flowers for it.

And that’s it with the flowers for today. But I’ve got plenty of buds I’m watching impatiently, so I’ll probably have something else to show off before the next Bloom Day.

As usual, head over to May Dreams Gardens for more flowers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 23:58

    Aww those Crocus are adorable. I love them. I planted something like 300 of them all over the place last fall. I can’t wait to see them this spring!

  2. February 16, 2011 00:13

    I’m a sucker for crocuses, too!

  3. February 16, 2011 00:20

    I love most spring flowers, but now that I think about it – crocuses are just so much more cheerful than, say, snowdrops, and not as… I don’t know, in-your-face as daffodils or tulips (I don’t particularly like big flowers).

  4. Ginny Burton permalink
    February 16, 2011 00:26

    Pretty flowers. And I like your bathroom tiles! Maybe they photographed better than they are in real life?

  5. February 16, 2011 00:48

    They are a bit darker than they are in that picture (I actually just took the laptop into the bathroom to compare) – those nearly-white patches are hardly visible. I had to paint the ceiling blue, with a sun on it, to make the room a bit more cheerful. Now I can pretend I’m underwater in a murky pond – just need some fishes and water lilies to decorate it with. 😉

  6. February 16, 2011 02:16

    Crocus blossoms always help to lift one’s spirits – thanks for sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

