Skip to content

Seed Greed

February 25, 2011

Looking into my seed drawer was a bit of a shock.

I knew I’d bought a few bags too many since my parents divorced and sold their house, at which time I threw out most of my seed collection. But seriously – this many?! I only have a balcony, damn it!

And here comes The List (varieties marked with * are newly bought):

Tomatoes

The three varieties from Amishland Heirloom Seeds are the ones I’m most excited about. Some time last year, I stumbled upon the existence of white currant tomatoes, and since I already had and loved yellow and red ones, I wanted, no, needed those, too. Only I couldn’t find anywhere in Europe that sold them. I ended up ordering through the one site that let me pay via paypal and had the seeds shipped to an online friend who travelled to Europe later that year, so she could give them to me when we met. So I’d better actually save seed this year!

And now while looking for those links (mostly for the benefit for some other mostly-online friends I can share some of these seeds with), I read there are also black currant tomatoes. Time for another hunt!

Other vegetables

Morning Glories

I seem to be starting another collection here. As a kid, it was Tagetes (which I don’t like at all any more), then there was the Pilea and Oxalis collections, and now it seems to be Ipomoea – finding these links was dangerous business, as it meant discovering yet more neat varieties. Enough already! (And the tomatoes don’t count as collection. Nope. Tomatoes are… um. Special.)

Tropaeolum

Another plant I might be tempted to collect, but I’m still managing to limit myself. A bit.

Other Flowers

There’s some ancient stuff in there, which probably won’t even germinate any more. I really need to do something about that.

‘guerrilla seeds’ – stuff I’m just keeping to sprinkle somewhere

  • Aquilegia vulgaris (own harvest 2008?)
  • Ipomoea mix + Tropaeolum peregrinum (own harvest 2009)
  • Mirabilis jalapa (own harvest 2009)
  • Poppy mix (Papaver nudicaule, P. rhoeas, Eschscholzia californica) (bought/mixed 2010)
  • Summer annuals mix + Salpiglossis sinuata (Giveaway 2010/own harvest 2009)

Looking at that list – yup, I must definitely be insane. Keeping myself ‘under control’ means I’m growing ‘only’ nine varieties of tomatoes this year. On a balcony that’s about 3×1.2 m (10×4 feet). And bell peppers. And beans. And peas. And ridiculous amounts of herbs and morning glories.

Yeah, I know they need to be watered. I lost my watering can - no, really! Been looking for it all day ...maybe it's buried under seeds?

I’ll go beat my head against the wall now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 00:39

    You might not cook with radish but have you ever pickled them? It’s pretty darn tasty.

    • February 25, 2011 01:05

      That’s another thing that never occurred to me (I actually thought of cooking them, and proceeded to try it out, without the help of the internet). But I don’t much like pickles, so I don’t think I’ll be trying it out.

  2. February 25, 2011 06:40

    Ah. Such a shame. I think they’re delightful pickled!

Leave a Reply

