Skip to content

More Signs of Spring

March 10, 2011
  • sore feet
  • sore back
  • dirty fingernails
  • flowers on my newest Easter Cactus:
  • the realisation that I’m an idiot for buying yet another Easter cactus – I only see it blooming for a few minutes in the morning before I leave for work – when I come home, the sun is gone, and the flowers are closing up.
  • Clivias going on sale (yay! Couldn’t afford them at full price, but € 5, I can justify)
  • anxious counting of tomato seedlings (still only the currant tomatoes – one ‘Coyote’, two ‘Tess’s Land Race’ – one of which seems to be dying – and a lot of ‘Gelbe Johannisbeere’… the others are doing nothing at all yet, and I’m getting a bit impatient/worried. May have to try again.)
  • a bunch of free tulips from work (when we can’t sell them any more, I get to/’have to’ take them home. Since I don’t own any vases, I had to put them in a beer mug the previous tenants forgot in the kitchen):
  • riding my bike without mittens
  • money in my tip jar (not a whole lot, maybe 50 cents a day, but at the end of the month I hope it’ll still buy me a meal… or a used book… or a small plant…)
  • wild garlic in my fridge and in my food (I spotted some growing in a forest from the train window on the way home from work – got off at the next village and walked back to pick some. Yum!)
  • lettuce and Viola cornuta on the balcony:

Admittedly, the picture wasn’t taken on the balcony, because it was already dark. I’m also aware that the bowl would barely be big enough for one Viola and two lettuces, and I crammed two Violas and five lettuces in there. But what was I to do… I had the lettuce plants left over after planting one window box (which I’m not posting pictures of because they’d break the colour scheme), and the bowl was the biggest container I had left – I can’t really afford to buy any new ones right now. Does being broke count as a sign of spring? It was already hard to justify the Violas, but I decided they count as edibles, since I love to put a few flowers in salads.

_______

And this is what it looks like when I go plant shopping:

Since I don’t have (or want) a car, my choice is between my bike basket and my backpack…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 14:27

    The theme of today’s post is orange! You can never have enough Easter cacti, so what if you really only ever see the buds…

    • March 12, 2011 22:02

      The orange clashes a bit with the purple of my Dendrobiums, but I just couldn’t resist either of these new ‘babies’.
      And it is damn hard not to end up with a huge collection of holiday cacti (speaking off, I need to get cuttings of my mother’s white Schlumbergera…)

  2. Ginny Burton permalink
    March 12, 2011 12:16

    Beautiful photos! What’s that growing in the little pot near the tulips?

    • March 12, 2011 21:59

      Those were/are some crocuses – no longer blooming, so they’ve been moved out to the balcony for now until I find somewhere to plant them.

Leave a Reply

