Skip to content

Worth the Wait

March 20, 2011

Last year, when I still thought I’d stick to my rule of buying only one Hippeastrum each winter, I bought one nice big bulb, in the hope that it would be the pink it was tagged as, and not some boring, ordinary red (I’ve had some bad experiences with tags that got switched). It seems I haven’t written down when I bought it, but it must have been some time before December 23rd, which is when I first broke the rule and bought the miniature amaryllis (which turned out to be a double white instead of the single pink it was tagged as).

In any case, I planted the bulb, and then it just sat there and did nothing. Then it started to put out leaves. And more leaves. And yet more leaves. And no flowers. For over two months, nothing but leaves.

But now, at last, it’s sent up a flower stalk. And it’s been worth the wait.

Not only is it the colour it was tagged as – a nice dark pink, not ordinary red or boring pale pink – but it’s also got lots of buds on that stalk. Not the usual four, not five, not six – seven of them!

And the ‘Ruby Meyer’ is also finally growing a flower stalk. I do hope that one will be worth the wait as well!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

