Skip to content

A Day for Shirking Responsibilities

April 5, 2011

I had big plans for Sunday, a long list of useful things I’d do. Water my plants, transplant tomato seedlings, sow some more seeds, plant my herbs, get sticks for my morning glories to climb, fold laundry, cook enough food for three days, work on my stories, write some blog posts… but as soon as I opened my eyes, woken up by bright sunshine, I knew that it wasn’t the day for that.

It was a day for running off to look at flowers.

A day for struggling up hills on my bicycle and going ‘wheeeee!’ down the other side.

A day for watching butterflies.

A day for enjoying the sunshine.

A day for skipping and jumping down steps.

A day for playing with cats.

A day for sticking my nose into a patch of violets.

A day for listening to frogs.

A day for wandering the forest in entirely inappropriate clothes and without shoes.

A day for following little streams.

A day for coming home sunburned, bramble-scratched, nettle-stung, tick-bitten, thirsty, hungry and utterly happy.

A day for wishing I could be even more irresponsible, could be irresponsible for more than a day, and just quit my job, end my lease, give away my possessions and go backpacking around the world, forever chasing spring, flowers, birdsong and sunshine.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 04:42

    Ack! You guys are so much farther ahead of us! I’m so jealous! It looks like a great day. What is the purple flower in the top picture, a corydalis of some sort?

  2. April 6, 2011 07:23

    Corydalis cava, I think. It’s what I call it at least.

  3. Ginny Burton permalink
    April 6, 2011 14:15

    Your violets are fragrant? Oh, how I envy you! My yard is full of wild violets, but they are scentless. I love them for their beauty, although my neighbors call them weeds and are horrified that I encourage them.

    • April 6, 2011 20:04

      We have scent-less ones as well, but this species is even named after its scent – Viola odorata, the scented violet.
      They’re one of the things that make me miss having a garden really badly – not to be able to walk out the back door into a cloud of that smell… *sigh* It’s the one thing that keeps me working at this time of year, the thought of earning enough money to buy my own garden one day…

Trackbacks

  1. Hunting for Forest Fairies « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

