Skip to content

Harvest Monday – April 18, 2011

April 18, 2011

Now that my balcony/windowsill garden is finally starting to produce food, I might as well join in Harvest Monday too.

Wednesday brought the first real harvest: some Lollo Rosso and Lollo Bionda from the window boxes, and a bit of arugula and parsley from the balcony, and a handful of horned pansy flowers from both these places:

It made a great salad together with some of the last wild garlic – now I don’t know how I’ll ever be able to eat store-bought lettuce again!

Seriously… I bought a head of lettuce on Thursday, because the window boxes aren’t yet enough to satisfy my salad-y needs, and it’s so disgusting. Tastes of nothing at all! To think I’ve been eating that all winter – heck, for almost three years now, that’s how long I haven’t had a garden!

On Thursday morning, I harvested the first five ‘Rainbow’ radishes on the kitchen window sill (and four more on Sunday):

Yeah, they’re tiny, but don’t they look sooo yummy? Five different colours, too.

I ate them in the simplest way possible, which is also still the best way to enjoy some yummy radishes – on brown bread with butter, sliced and with a bit of salt – delicious!

Which means I won’t be able to buy radishes at the store any more, either. Whatever will I put on my lunch sandwiches now?

And then there’s a steady supply of herbs for cooking – mostly chives, parsley and rosemary – and thyme and lemon balm for herbal teas. The plan is that I won’t have to buy any more tea all year. I still have some mint tea (and may allow myself to cheat by buying some fresh mint at the farm later this year), and some Earl Grey, which I rarely drink, and wild cherry herbal tea. I’ll buy some sage plants, dry some of that along with the thyme and lemon balm, I’ll dry some elder flowers when they bloom, and I’m already drying raspberry, blackberry and strawberry leaves. I should get some nettles, too.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. tempusflits, aka: Martha permalink
    April 18, 2011 19:15

    I am so with you. After my first container garden last year, I can’t buy and don’t want produce from the grocery store. Other than canned, I didn’t buy any tomatoes all winter. I recently gave in and bought some for a salad but they were so solt they were almost rotten. I’ll stick with my garden produce, buying only the stuff in winter that I don’t grow in the summer.

    Congratulations on your harvest. Your radish sandwich look great. I’ve never eaten radishes that way, but after reading your post I will. Thank you.

    • April 18, 2011 21:33

      I think it’s the traditional Austrian way to eat radishes – or garden cress or wild garlic (minus the salt).

      Grocery store tomatoes are… yuck. I’ve hardly bought any all winter, and I used to eat tomatoes by the pound all year long. I’m going to grow a couple of cherry/currant varieties on the balcony, and the rest I’ll get fresh from the organic farm once they open. So much better, and so much more colourful!

  2. April 19, 2011 00:51

    Yes, once you have eaten REAL fresh home grown veggies, you won’t like anything that you buy in the store!

  3. April 19, 2011 01:04

    It’s amazing how much better homegrown lettuce tastes. My mom used to make a radish sandwich like that!

  4. April 19, 2011 02:24

    I don’t think I could afford veggies in the grocery store if I wanted to buy them!…which I don’t! Thank goodness for the Garden!

    • April 19, 2011 03:42

      Isn’t it amazing how expensive veggies are in the grocery stores? And, they are so tasteless! Once you’ve gone homegrown, you can’t go back!

      • April 19, 2011 07:15

        I have to admit I don’t even know if veggies are expensive, since this is the first year I’m living on my own – one thing’s for sure, though, lettuce plants are a lot cheaper than a whole head (especially with my employee discount) – now I’m just waiting to see if they’ll pay off the planters and soil, too!

  5. April 19, 2011 05:13

    Great. Now I’m hungry. Your food looks amazing and I’m totally jealous! Now I need to go plant some lettuce…

    • April 19, 2011 07:18

      *grins*
      Another one ‘infected’… quite a few of my online friends have joined me in this veggie-growing thing this year.

      • April 20, 2011 04:24

        I’ve always been a huge fan of veggie gardening…This year is not so conducive to it so far though 😦 It hasn’t been nice enough to get my lettuce seeds planted so I think I’m just going to get some starts and plant those. Our soil is pure clay so I can’t even do radishes! I suppose I could do them in pots but then I’d have to get pots and I’m really lazy…

    • April 20, 2011 07:05

      I don’t have any separate pots for my radishes – I just sprinkle the seeds into other pots and planters on the balcony – of course, with your weather, it seems it’ll be a while yet until you can put anything outside!

  6. April 19, 2011 18:19

    Mmmmm….fresh food.

  7. April 19, 2011 23:18

    Wow, I love the rainbow radishes! I don’t really know how homegrown food tastes, except berries and watercress. Your sandwich reminded me of that… watercress (grown on wet fabric in a bowl, so easy) tastes awesome with bread. 🙂

    • April 20, 2011 07:03

      I was told last year that I should always bring balcony-grown food to write-ins – but of course, in November, there isn’t much left.
      I think I’ll start some cress again, too, now that wild garlic season is over.

  8. April 20, 2011 14:09

    OMG: Love those little easter egg radishes and what you did with them and I don’t like radishes – blucky yucky – trying to get over this dislike as I have a wide ranging pallette. Nice harvest!

  9. April 20, 2011 16:08

    Yummy. I can’t wait for my radishes to grow up. They just germinated. Soon.

Leave a Reply

