Skip to content

Surprise Flowers

April 20, 2011

When moving plants to water last week, I discovered the beginnings of a second flower stalk on Hippeastrum cybister ‘Ruby Meyer’… only just poking out of the bulb. And this week, once again moving plants to water (the three rows on the extra-broad living room windowsill look nice, but they’re such a bother to water!), I found it looking like this:

Growing crazily fast!

And then, moving some more plants, I came upon my tiniest Schlumbergera – remember the one that threw itself to pieces last year (I now think the cause was some sort of fungal disease)? Only a few of the dropped segments rooted, and those got shoved right up against the window in their tiny pot, behind three rows of much taller plants, and pretty much forgotten except for the occasional bit of water. And now they’re doing this (and huh, it’s only while posting the pic that I notice it’s grown new segments, too, not just buds):

It’s quite possible I’ll give it away, though – we’re going to visit the grandparents on Easter Monday, and since my gran gave me one of her Christmas cacti last year, I might return the favour.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 04:54

    Yay unexpected flowers!

  2. April 21, 2011 04:54

    Also that Dracaena behind the amaryllis looks beautiful!

  3. Ginny Burton permalink
    April 21, 2011 13:45

    That is one determined amaryllis! How tall is it?

    • April 21, 2011 19:59

      Roughly measured in handspans, from the top of the bulb, today it’s about 70 cm (over 2 ft.)! In the picture it’s about 10-15 cm (4-6 in) shorter than that. Apparently, it’s planning to hit the ceiling!

  4. Ginny Burton permalink
    April 22, 2011 01:27

    Today’s Washington Post had an article about “French Breakfast” radishes and how delicious they are sliced and salted on thick, buttered bread. It made me smile to think that I’d read about that here first.

    The author of the article, Barbara Damrosch, wondered why they were “French” since a typical breakfast in France is a croissant and coffee. Any ideas?

    • April 22, 2011 06:53

      No… but then, I don’t know the first thing about France. All I know is, ‘if I can’t pronounce it, it’s got to be French’! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Crazy, Crazy ‘Ruby Meyer’ « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

