Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 2, 2011

May 2, 2011

If last week was a week for salads, this week was a week for teas. I’ve had a hard time with drinking enough water, so I tried to trick myself into drinking more with more herbal teas.

Sage (Salvia officinalis 'Tricolor')

Thyme (Thymus vulgaris)

Lemon Verbena (Aloysia citriodora)

Lemon Balm (Melissa officinalis)

No other harvests to speak of – I only made one salad, and ate three or four nasturtium leaves I accidentally tore off when moving the tray with the seedlings around. Spring at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery is a good time for earning tips and overtime pay, but a bad time for everything else, including harvesting and cooking.

I bet most of the other Harvest Monday participants at Daphne’s Dandelions have done better than me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 23:56

    I love herbal tea. A small handful of chocolate mint in hot water is delicious if you can get it.

    • May 3, 2011 20:04

      I’ve never tried chocolate mint… and to be honest, I’m not fond enough of mint to put some on the balcony.

  2. May 3, 2011 13:53

    I love herbal teas too. Weirdly not most of the prepackaged ones, but I do love the ones from my garden. I impulse bought some golden lemon thyme, so I’m guessing that will end up in my tea cup at some time.

    • May 3, 2011 20:07

      My biggest problem with store-bought herbal teas is that I’m too cheap to buy more than one box at a time, and then I have to drink the same thing every day for about three weeks – and I get so fed up with it! With my own herbs, I can have something different every day!

Leave a Reply

