Skip to content

New Nest Fern for the Nettle Nest

May 2, 2011

I’ve been lusting after Asplenium nidus ‘Osaka’ for a couple of years now – ever since I saw them in the school greenhouse while helping a friend study for a houseplant identification test (a rather memorable day on which we managed to get ourselves locked in the greenhouse).

But they’re only rarely available, and when I saw them, I couldn’t buy them for one reason or another. Either I was broke, or I’d declared some rule like, ‘not allowed to buy a new plant until I’ve passed the driving test’ – it was during the latter that I last saw them, back in November. And then when I’d passed it, I think they were gone again.

However, I did get a plain Asplenium nidus at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery – for free, even, as far as I remember, because my boss is just awesome like that. And almost half a year later, that one is not only still alive, but also mostly happy with me (it’d like a bit more water, but … um. At this time of year, it has to be happy to get any water at all. Too much work, too little time…). And since I already had this one, the next time I saw an ‘Osaka’, I told myself I’d not buy one until I knew I could keep Aspleniums alive.

I’d almost forgotten about wanting an ‘Osaka’ when I got to work last Friday, and found the van parked outside, full of houseplants – apparently, the boss got up at 4 AM to drive to the wholesaler’s and stock up for Mother’s Day! So one of my first tasks was to unload it, and guess what? ‘Osaka’s!

I hadn’t planned to spend any money on Friday, after all the plants I’d bought the day before – I hadn’t even planned to bring any money at all. But before I left for work, my mother called to tell me she needed two pots of chives, so I put some money into my wallet after all, which made it possible to immediately pounce on the ‘Osaka’s and buy one. (Talking with my boss later, he had a pretty similar reaction – they were the first thing he grabbed.)

Anyway, here it is:

and I’m off to bed after a long and crazy day at work followed by trying to cram a fifth language into my poor brain and get a chocolate egg out of my printer… you can tell how tired I am by the title. If I’m really tired, I start talking in allitterations.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 02:19

    I was so horribly upset with this plant. I’d wanted one for the longest time, finally bought one a few weeks ago and it promptly collapsed and died within 2 weeks. I’m quite heartbroken because I kept a regular asplenium alive for so long! I can’t wait to hear how yours does, I hope you have much better luck than I do!

    • May 3, 2011 20:01

      I sure hope so too!
      It’s probably going to lose a couple of leaves, though, as it arrived totally dried out.

  2. May 3, 2011 16:10

    Congratulations on your new baby! I’m impressed with your willpower. Only lack of funds keeps me from getting a plant that I like.

    • May 3, 2011 20:03

      Willpower? Pfah! I already got more plants! And the restraint I had until now was mostly having little money.

Trackbacks

  1. A Slippery Slope « Letters & Leaves
  2. Oooh Shiny Curly! « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

