Skip to content

Stress Relief

May 7, 2011

It’s May … crazy-busy time. We’re running around all day long, I’m working overtime every day, but I won’t even complain because the boss is at work before I get there, he’s still there after I leave, and he has to go in on Sunday to water, too.

Anyway… all this crazy-busy-ness is making us rather silly. Every silly joke, every pun no matter how bad, makes us crack up, and we don’t much care what our customers think if we occasionally stand behind the till howling with laughter. It’s only for a moment, and then it’s back into the fray, with a new and genuine smile on my face and a little more patience for those customers who just can’t make up their mind.

And this is what happens during those rare quiet moments when there are no customers: I find a lost pacifier while sweeping and…

… stick it into the mouth of a kitschy terracotta figure.

I find a Carnation with a broken stem and…

… stick it into some random succulent that we’re now referring to as Dialoe  (Dianthus + Aloe, not that I have any idea if it actually is an Aloe – none of us is good with succulents).

We’re not really much better than those orchid-dyers – several people have already commented on the beautiful flower. OK, we are better than the orchid dyers, because we always admit it’s not real, not that we’d really fool anyone with it, as the flower would fall off as soon as the plant is moved.

And then I find a Fuchsia flower…

Looked better when the flower was fresh...

… and stick it on a Bromeliad inflorescense, and the boss’s wife calls it a Bromuchsia, which sounds so silly we burst out laughing again every time one of us mentions it.

***

And then I go home and mock my customers… and guess what? I’m on Not Always Right! That got posted a lot more quickly than I expected!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 02:18

    As long as you don’t mock your customers in front of them, it’s okay 🙂 Finding silly ways to relieve stress sure beats having men in white coats show up to take you away…he he he…

  2. May 11, 2011 07:21

    Definitely!
    I just have to hope my customers never find this blog and recognize themselves – unlikely, though, I don’t think many of them know that much English.

Trackbacks

  1. Sometimes We’re Silly « Letters & Leaves
  2. Whee! « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

