Skip to content

Eeeelderflowers!!!

May 10, 2011
tags:

You’ll have to excuse the seemingly disproportionate excitement and the crappy picture – elderflowers are just that awesome! Spotted the first open flowers yesterday, and today they were beginning to appear all over the place – now they just need to open where I can get at them, and I can make elderflower cordial, which makes an awesome drink when mixed with water, and dry them for herbal teas, and dip them in pancake batter and fry them and… I don’t know yet. Might come up with something else.

I love Elder (Sambucus nigra) – one of the plants without which a garden just wouldn’t be complete. Luckily, there are also lots and lots of wild ones all over the place. I can’t wait for the air to be filled with their smell again – it smells like the beginning of summer, and even though I’ve been out of school for years, it stills reminds me of those lazy days at the end of term, of open windows and the swifts circling around the school, going, ‘sree! Sree!’, of slipping out the back door into the overgrown yard and heading home with dandelions in my hair, of the first barefooted forest roamings of the year… even now, when May means work, work, work, elderflowers smell like freedom.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 02:37

    One day I’ll figure out what you do with these…I don’t think our native Sambucus is even edible. It amazes me how many Europeans seem to be really into using elderberry as a food crop and Americans have absolutely no idea it’s even edible. I have tried elderflower cordial though, it was pretty good. It reminded me of lychee juice.

  2. May 11, 2011 07:19

    Never tried lychee juice, so I don’t know… love the cordial, though – the only drink I bother keeping around (usually I stick to water and herbal teas).

Trackbacks

  1. Harvest Monday « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

