Skip to content

Plant Transport

June 2, 2011

I don’t mind having a car – cycling and public transport are cheaper, and much less scary than driving.

Transporting plants might be easier by car, but I actually like the weird looks I get when I board the train with a plant or two sticking out of my rucksack, or cycle past with my bike looking like this:

Basket overflowing with tomato plants and morning glories, bags with more tomato plants and swiss chard hanging from the handlebars – which is totally not allowed, but who doesn’t hang bags on it?

A couple of times in the last weeks I was really sorry I didn’t have a camera with me, when I saw other cyclists and the plants they transported. Coming out of the DIY store, I saw a woman walking up, pushing a bike with a tree on the carrier – at least 1.5 m/5 feet tall! And a couple of days after that, I saw a guy on a bike with a spider plant in his rucksack… which, in itself, wouldn’t have been so remarkable – but the stolons and plantlets trailing down his back certainly looked great!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 15:14

    I don’t think transporting plants on a bike is odd or unusual. I would if I could. Unfortunately my favorite place to get plants is about an hour away by car so biking is not an option.

    • June 3, 2011 22:29

      I’m pretty lucky in that there are several garden centres very close to where I live – and for getting rid of plants, my mother’s place is also nearby (that’s where I was taking that bikeload of plants).
      Speaking of, I hope I can get nine Tradescantias and some other stuff into my bike basket, I need to sell stuff to my boss again.

  2. Ginny Burton permalink
    June 4, 2011 17:39

    Your climate seems to be similar ours in the Washington, DC area. The linden trees on my block are in full bloom and the scent is heavenly! Are your lindens in bloom? They certainly make a lot of littler as the tiny flowers die, so I have to sweep the front steps of my shop every couple of hours, but oh my! They are so worth it!

    • June 5, 2011 12:23

      To be honest, I don’t even know – there are no lindens near my house, so I don’t know what they’re doing… guess I should get myself up to the forest some time.

Leave a Reply

