Skip to content

Awesome Amorphophallus

June 14, 2011

Sadly, not my own – it belongs to my boss, and over the last couple of weeks, we’ve had to tell several people, ‘Sorry, not for sale.’

It’s pretty huge, coming up nearly to my shoulder (admittedly, I’m not very tall), and over one metre across.

I suggested to my boss that we should take out the smaller bulbs once they go dormant in autumn, pot them up separately and sell them, and he agrees it’s a good idea. It’s really a shame they’re not more common – they’re so pretty! I also think it’s pretty stupid that at the botanical garden, they only put them out when they’re blooming – OK, I guess ugly smelly flowers are kind of interesting, but given the choice I’d rather look at a pretty leaf than an ugly flower!

Of course, they can also be pretty frustrating – my own bulb (which is tiny compared to the biggest one in that pot, only about the size of a grape) is still not doing anything, despite getting plenty of water and warmth. I’m comforting myself with the thought that it went dormant pretty late, and from googling around a bit, it looks like they break dormancy when they feel like it, which isn’t necessarily when their growers would like them to. So I’ll just have to wait. And hope it’ll be this big and awesome one day!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 00:12

    Well crap now I have Amorphophallus envy. Is that A. konjac or a different species? It’s so pretty!

    • June 15, 2011 20:56

      I don’t even know – the boss doesn’t either, because he didn’t even know/remember it’s an Amorphophallus until I stumbled across it on some blog and told him.

  2. zane zirkle permalink
    January 23, 2012 06:09

    Thats a species of amorphophallus konjac

  3. sean permalink
    June 26, 2012 06:07

    Thats a variety of Amorphophallus konjac called nightstick if im not mistaken. I would love to acquire 1 or 2 dormant tubers by mail if you decide to sell any.

  4. Maria permalink
    November 6, 2017 23:39

    Nice!i love those leaves!
    i would love to have one also!

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Doing Something! « Letters & Leaves
  2. Look Who’s Blooming « Letters & Leaves
  3. And Why Isn’t Mine Doing That? « Letters & Leaves
  4. *sniffle* | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

