Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 27, 2011

June 27, 2011

This was a week for raspberries and tomatoes. Not a lot of tomatoes, yet, but for more varieties.

Monday was mostly standard stuff, although I got a little silly while arranging things for the picture:

Lollo Rosso and Lollo Bionda lettuce, which was bolting and needed to be eaten quickly, six Golden Currant tomatoes, three pods of ‘Blauwschokker’ peas and some small-leaf basil (which is doing ridiculously well this year so I have way too much!)

Even though it’s only me eating them, I always have fun decorating my salads:

On Tuesday, more lettuce (including some of the first oakleaf), nasturtium, parsley, chard… the chard went into pasta along with some veggies from the farm and some feta, the rest into the salad bowl.

On Wednesday I was invited to Mrs T.’s garden again, to spend another hour up the ladder snatching at cherry branches. The season is pretty much over, but I did get another 4 kg. I kept about one kg to eat fresh, and froze/canned the rest.

I also went to the farm that day for potatoes, and while I was there, picked raspberries until I was driven into the greenhouse by the most magnificent thunderstorm. My wonderful farmer wouldn’t let me pay for the raspberries (and gave me a ride to the train station so I wouldn’t have to walk in the pouring rain), but of course I did give him a tip.

When I got home (looking like I’d showered with my clothes on – I got totally soaked in the five minutes it takes me to bike home from the train station!), I picked the last of the lettuce, 20 g of radish seed pods and a big nasturtium branch that had been snapped off by the storm. I did take pictures, but they don’t look so good…

Wednesday brought the first ‘Tess’s Land Race’ red currant tomatoes.

I shared with my best friend again. Mine had a very intense taste, but I’m not entirely convinced I like it. Too… ketchup-y. But I should wait until I’ve eaten more.

On Friday, I picked the first plum at the teeny-tiny village train station. No picture because I stuffed it into my mouth right away, but there will certainly be more.

On Saturday, the first four ‘Minibel’s:

Stuffed into my mouth right after taking that picture!

I also cut the marjoram and origano to dry, and cleaning up my window boxes left me with 40 g of nasturtium seeds, which I’ll try to pickle as caper substitute. No idea if I’ll like them… I don’t even know if I like real capers, as I only had them about twice in my life.

Thanks to Daphne at Daphne’s Dandelion for hosting Harvest Monday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 03:50

    Those berries [and everything else!] look wonderful!

  2. June 28, 2011 06:04

    How do nasturtiums taste? I planted a packet of seeds randomly in my garden beds to help attract pollinators, but I am not sure if I will end up liking the taste. You should update about your experiment of pickling the seeds, I would be interested to know how that turns out!

    • June 28, 2011 07:18

      They’re spicy, the seeds more so than the leaves – maybe just chew on one leaf to see if you like it? I’ve found that I can’t eat more than one of the seeds freshly picked, but we’ll see how I like them when they’re pickled. I’m definitely planning to update on that!

  3. June 28, 2011 21:43

    I love all the herbs. I miss having mine. I did plant them this year, but they aren’t full sized yet. I still hope to get something of a harvest before fall hits so I can have some dried over the winter.

  4. June 28, 2011 21:48

    I guess mine are as big as they’re going to get on the balcony – not sure they’ll survive the winter. But let’s not think about winter just yet. 😉

Leave a Reply

