Skip to content

Like I Needed Persuading

June 29, 2011
tags:

About a week ago,Tom at Theatrum Botanicum posted about an Impatiens with a variegated branch that he found. I’ve seen some of those, and variegated bell peppers and forget-me-nots and didn’t buy them… but that post reminded me of the one partly variegated lavender we had at work. And I didn’t really need Tom’s ‘Do it! Do it! Do it!’ – I couldn’t resist any longer. Especially as I just had got a bit of free space in one of the railing planters where I’d ripped out the bolted lettuce…

Now I need to cut back the summer savory so I can see my cute little lavender better!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 22:41

    There is nothing like the sweet smell of lavender during a hot summer night! I love hanging out on my balcony right now because I have a lavender plant there that has a really strong smell that lasts quite a bit and that doesn’t get blown away too much by the wind. That smell is the smell of vacation and summer for me, as I remember it so well from the camping trips to the Baltic Sea in my childhood when my mom tried to keep the mosquitos away by rubbing lavender buds or lavender oil on our skin before we went to bed! Ever since I feel strangely relaxed as soon as I smell lavender!

    • June 30, 2011 07:19

      I don’t really connect the smell with anything in particular, but I still love it. (Also, it’s just about the only herb I can smell without feeling hungry! Not that feeling hungry would be bad right now, the heat makes it really hard for me to eat anything.)

  2. June 30, 2011 00:33

    Adorable! Hopefully the variegation is stable! It’d be super pretty if it is.

  3. June 30, 2011 07:20

    I hope so, too. I’ll probably try to take cuttings – would be awesome to have a whole variegated plant instead of just that one branch.

Leave a Reply

