Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 4, 2011

July 4, 2011

This is a week for no pictures.* And a week for raspberries.

On Monday, I picked my second cucumber – because it’s a small variety, it was again only 200 g, but so perfect-looking and perfect-tasting. The picture is blurry, though, so I mightn’t have posted it anyway).

On Tuesday, some ‘Minibel’ and ‘Golden Currant’ tomatoes, which I tried to arrange into a Mickey Mouse shape for the picture (didn’t work too well, so no loss if I don’t post the pic), and some basil and parsley.

The rest of the week, nothing much, except for lots of chives. Didn’t even take pictures of that.

The weekend brought a bit more of a harvest – the last bit of the purple cauliflower, which was too embarrassingly tiny to take a picture of, 50 of nasturtium seeds for pickling, 20 of radish seed pods, three ‘Tess’s Land Race’ currant tomatoes … I only got to eat the outer part of these, as I’m trying to save seed. We’ll see how that goes.

And raspberries! Lots and lots of raspberries. Not from the balcony, of course!

On Saturday, I borrowed the car for the first time in months, which was pretty nerve-wracking, and drove my best friend and me to the Forest – which, I’ve recently discovered, is the largest forest for at least 50 km in any direction – where we crawled up steep slopes and fought our way through a waist-deep tangle of scratchy raspberries and evilly prickly blackberries (guess what we’ll go back for later in the year), got soaked by sudden rain and yet didn’t go home until we both had filled several containers with raspberries.

I had a little over 1 kg – I don’t know how much exactly, because I didn’t weigh the ones I gave to my mother. I ate only a few of mine fresh, froze a lot for future cakes, yoghurts, milkshakes, ice creams…, and made a little jam.

This was the first time that I’ve ever gone to a forest specifically to pick berries, and it was fun (even though I’ve still got a thorn in my right ring finger and it hurts when I type). So much fun, actually, that I’d have stayed longer and picked still more if I had either a larger freezer or ate more jam. On the one hand, it makes me kind of sad that there is this huge raspberry patch right next to one of the main paths – so full of berries that you don’t know where to start picking, and nobody picks them! Are people really so lazy?! But on the other hand, of course, it’s quite good for the few of us who do want to go berry-picking.

Now I only need to find someone who’ll take me to a good blueberry-patch. I haven’t had blueberries in years.

Hop over to Daphne’s Dandelions for more interesting, illustrated posts šŸ˜‰ – thanks for hosting, Daphne!

____

* I came home yesterday to discover that my modem seems to be broken, it always turns itself off after 30 seconds. So I brought my laptop to my mother’s place since I need to look after the Clown Brother anyway – but it won’t connect to my mother’s wifi. I can post from my mother’s computer, but of course that doesn’t have my pictures on it, and I didn’t bring a flash drive to move them from one computer to the other.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 20:31

    I love doing the adventure of hiking into a spot and picking wild berries. We have several places we regularly go to – for wild raspberries, lots of blackberries, and even a wild blueberry patch (but we have to watch for bears there!).

    • July 5, 2011 14:00

      THAT is certainly adventurous, then! No more bears where I live, and I doubt they’ll return. The forest isn’t that big.

  2. July 6, 2011 00:19

    When I was growing up, I had a national forest in my back yard. It was fun picking things from it when they came in season. But one of the neighbors knew where there was a raspberry patch. I never did find a good one. I kept looking for it.

    • July 6, 2011 21:39

      I recently read about a website where you can map ‘free’ fruit trees. Best friend and I both went, ‘Pfah – like we’d share!’ šŸ˜‰

  3. July 6, 2011 03:24

    Sorry to hear about you computer troubles, but even without pictures your harvest sounds great.

    How lucky to have that patch of fruit nearby! I would happily be poked and prodded by thorns if it meant free raspberries.

    • July 6, 2011 21:40

      I got my modem exchanged quickly, yay!

      I just can’t understand why most people just pass up all those free berries – even the ones right next to the path!

  4. July 7, 2011 19:25

    Well, when the berries are growing below half a meter they say that you should be careful not to eat berries as they could contain dog tapeworm larvae (is that what it is?) that could have gotten there with fox’ pee or saliva. I know that the risk is pretty low but I guess that is the reason for most people to pass on munching on berries.

    BTW. I tried to log back on to the k&r forums (where we met) and it seems like I got thrown out of the system, Have you had any irregularities with them? I have trouble answering threads and I can’t open new ones. It sucks big time, as people seem to think I ran off. I didn’t….I just hope my answer to my own thread made it into the system and people will know I have not gone away. I also contacted the people from the forms but have not heared back from them…

    • July 7, 2011 20:05

      Most of the berries were higher than that – it’s still possible this is what’s keeping people away but I think it’s mostly laziness. Personally, I don’t worry too much about that – I worry about lots of things but not about what could happen to me in a forest. Like everybody is always freaking out about ticks, while I consider them just a little more annoying than a mosquito, and a lot less than horse flies.

      About the forum, odd … don’t know what that would have been. I think they periodically delete members who haven’t posted at all, but you had posted, so… I have no idea. There isn’t much moderation going on, either, so I can’t even tell you how long it might take until you hear back from them.
      And now I’ve just discovered that I can’t get to the forum at all – Firefox tells me, ‘Die aufgerufene Website leitet die Anfrage so um, dass sie nie beendet werden kann.’, and I’m too lazy to translate that into English. Oddly, it works in Internet Explorer.

      ETA: just tried clicking on your profile, and I can’t access it either. Something is seriously messed up on that site!
      ETA #2: And now it works again in Firefox. What the flamingo?

      • July 7, 2011 21:37

        I had the same thing coming up in between trying to post a new thread and getting kicked out again. And they wanted me to sign in again and again. Very messed up. I hope they get that sorted out soon. Did you find my post on the balcony gardening thread that I opened? I was wondering if it got through. It already feels much better that it seems to be messed up in general and that it probably wasn’t my fault to get kicked out.

        Yeah, about the berries again. I eat berries whenever I see some in the forest and when I know they are edible. But I have the feeling there are more and more people out there who don’t have an idea what a blackberry bush looks like. Sad, really… but maybe that means there’s more for us to find out there! ;o)

      • July 7, 2011 22:02

        That, too (about the not-recognizing) – or they don’t realize they are allowed to pick. I just remembered when a friend and I spent a week at my grandparents’ a couple of years ago, and while walking to the lake one day, I pointed out some blackberries in a hedge, and she was like, ‘Are we allowed to take them?’ To a city girl like her, that was apparently a totally strange concept.

        Your post is there, but now the forum is not loading again – in either browser. Bah!
        Edit: And now it works again, but only in Firefox. Again, what the flamingo…?

Leave a Reply

