Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 18, 2011

July 18, 2011

Guess what? Another rushed post!

Monday: One miniature cucumber, 200 g. Enough for three days’ lunch sandwiches.

Tuesday: 400 g of cherry plums picked in a field hedge, one surprise radish:

Thursday: 250 g of tomatoes (lunch veggies for the rest of the week), 60 g each of chard and radish seed pods, the last pod of peas (no, seriously not impressed), and a couple of nasturtium seeds. Eaten with a couple of other veggies and some rice.

Friday: 1.3 kg  of cherry plums from the Teeny Tiny Village Train Station – baked a cake (still eating), canned some, eat some fresh.

Saturday: more cherry plums – 1.87 kg. Not counting the ones I ate while picking (at least another 1/4 kg). Some frozen for future cakes, some canned:

Two jars of each variety. One didn’t seal probably, so I’ll eat that for dessert tomorrow.

I also picked 300 g of tomatoes, which apparently I didn’t take a picture of – I was making lasanga, and in the middle of it, after the stores had closed, discovered I didn’t have canned tomatoes. So I added all the ‘Minibel’s I could find, and all the tomato paste I still had.

Sunday, I cut back some herbs and hung them up to dry – origano, lavender, lemon thyme, and a branch of bog sage I accidentally broke off while watering.

I’ll include today’s harvest as well, as I won’t be able to post next week:

120 of currant tomatoes, added to the scrambled eggs I had for breakfast – ended up with more tomatoes than eggs! Oh, and plenty of chives.

My mother harvested the first white currant tomatoes already – mine still need some more time. But I found a few ripe ones on the plant I gave to my boss’s wife – they were delicious! (Of course, I didn’t eat all!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 21:44

    Nice harvest — your herbs look so pretty!

  2. July 18, 2011 22:57

    I love putting tomatoes in my egg in the morning too. Usually it is a mix of onion, pepper, tomato and zucchini. I love summer breakfasts.

    • July 18, 2011 23:16

      I don’t like zucchini in my eggs, but I add onions and peppers too, if I’ve got them (and the time to chop them, which I didn’t have today.

  3. July 19, 2011 05:11

    those plums look amazing!!! And all those tomatoes, i’m jealous!

  4. July 19, 2011 06:05

    There are also amazingly many of both this year!

  5. July 20, 2011 03:28

    I hope you didn’t pick the radish from the cherry plum tree…

    • July 20, 2011 06:21

      Hehe… actually, this makes me think of Harry Potter – didn’t Luna wear “Dirigible Plums” for earrings, which look like radishes? But everything makes me think of Harry Potter right now.

Leave a Reply

