Skip to content

Not Strangled By Morning Glories

July 20, 2011

Not yet, anyway.

When you read this, I’ll be on a train, going South, to Florence, Italy, in the company of a friend, two bicycles, a tent and far too much luggage. Nine days of biking through Tuscany. I hear it’s pretty there, but hillly – I expect lots of sweating, cursing and sore butts!

But I’m sure we’ll also have fun. I’m really excited – I’ve been dreaming of doing something like this for years, but on my own… on our own, both my friend and I are too chicken, but together, I guess we can handle whatever adventures life throws at us.

There had better be some adventures – I’ve got a lot to live up to. After all, my parents biked to Corsica when they were young – on stolen bikes – and did crazy stuff like sleeping in a cave. I want crazy stories to tell my hypothetical future children! Or blog readers.

My first ‘grown-up’ holiday – the first time not travelling with family, school or staying with friends. The first time finding our way, food, a place to sleep, all by ourselves.

Nearly eleven days without internet access will be seriously weird – but I’m sure I’ll have a lot to tell when I get back! Even if it’s only how bad I hurt and how I hate hills and heat.

How I hate hils and heat – it must be bedtime. Alliterations usually happen when I’m tired.

Nearly eleven days without books will also be seriously weird. Obviously I can’t bring along the huge bag of books I usually take with me on vacations. I’ll bring one book, though – Tolkien’s ‘Lays of Beleriand’. This should last me a while. As much as I love the alliterative verse of the ‘Children of Húrin’, it can only be read a few pages at a time.

Nearly eleven days away from my plants goes beyond ‘seriously weird’ – that’s scary. I hope my plant-sitters do a good job – keep your fingers crossed!

I’ll ‘see’ you in eleven days!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 01:49

    You’ll probably come back to a morning glory-filled apartment because your plant sitters won’t have the nerve to cut them back. 😉

    Have fun!

  2. July 28, 2011 17:07

    I hope you are currently having the time of your life! Looking forward to hearing all about your adventures sans sore butt.

Leave a Reply

