Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 1, 2011

August 1, 2011

Just a short post, as I’ve been away from home and thus haven’t harvested much.

If I’m allowed to look a bit further back, here’s the last harvest before I left:

350 g of tomatoes and a tiny cucumber (150 g), picked on Wednesday morning – we ate it for lunch in Florence the next day. I’m not allowed to show Pink’s face on the blog (and wouldn’t even if she gave me permission, since I don’t show mine either), so I can’t show you her longing look at the food.

Back home, this Saturday, I was so tired I couldn’t eat anything but Bruschetta with currant tomatoes and basil – that’s 300 g of tomatoes, 50 to each piece of bread.

I’ll include today’s harvest as well, because I’m leaving on Wednesday again, this time in the opposite direction, to the North.

Guess what – more tomatoes! 250 g of them, and there are still lots more out there. Tossed them in some random-vegetable pasta sauce, along with a pathetically small sweet pepper (20 g), and one (yes, one) string bean. Also, 20 g of oakleaf lettuce for a small salad. And lots of un-photographed basil.

If you haven’t already, head over to Daphne’s Dandelions – Daphne’s harvest is quite a bit more impressive than mine, and I bet the other blogs linked to also have a lot to show off!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 23:56

    Your Bruschetta looks so tropical and delicious!

  2. August 2, 2011 02:54

    I love bruschetta, and yours is so pretty!

  3. August 2, 2011 21:18

    Bruschetta is a fine dish, tired or not.

Leave a Reply

