Skip to content

Distracted by Fairies

August 9, 2011

Sorry for disappearing on you like that – my yearly trip to Fairyland needed a bit more preparation than I’d anticipated.

In particular, I was distracted by these two Japanese-Celtic fairies and turned into a very Austrian fairy myself:

It was fun meeting my friends, and my friends’ friends (and funny how, even though I’m not really good with faces, I kept seeing people and thinking, ‘I’ve seen you before – and you – and you…’), but on the whole, I wasn’t as impressed as I was in previous years. There were hardly any costumes that made me think, ‘I have to get a picture of that!’, Omnia has been going downhill even more, to the point that we didn’t stay for a single one of their concerts (and the rain was only partially to blame for that) and the rest of the bands didn’t really impress me either. Still, being with friends is always fun, as is jumping in puddles, and dancing, and seeing things like signs for Free Hugs, Cursed Free Hugs and  Free Whippings or a vampire-toothed Ronald McDonald doing the macarena to Balkan music…

Or hearing people say things like, “This says a lot about these festivals, doesn’t it, that I can’t remember if somebody threatened me with a knife” or “Maybe we should sacrifice some babies.” – “Maybe we should sacrifice some Omnia.”

Or coming up with wonderfully silly ideas for next year, such as the Bubblewrap Cloak, the Magic Pink Pony Rubber Boots of Protection, Free the Socks! and Free Thugs…

~*~*~*~

In any case, my body is now home, but my mind is still floating around in Fairyland, so don’t expect coherent posts for a while yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 18:02

    It looks and sounds like you had a lovely time.

    • August 10, 2011 22:45

      I certainly did – no matter how bad the music gets, there’s always lots of other fun stuff to do at Castlefest!

Trackbacks

  1. State Garden Show at Ritzlhof, Part 1 « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

