Skip to content

Harvest Monday – August 22, 2011

August 22, 2011

Continuing with the completely ridiculous amounts of tomatoes – if I get this much from a balcony, I almost shudder to think how much I’d get from an actual garden!

Most of the harvest – a total 0f 1.25 k, over the course of only four days – was Rose Quartz Multiflora. I somehow ended up with two plants of that variety – did I mislabel my plants, or has there been a mix-up with the seeds? I only wanted one plant of each variety, but now I have two of this pinkish cherry tomato, and none of the yellow ones. But it’s OK – they’re really good, tasty and sweet, and they have huge clumps of flowers and fruits. The only downside is that they always split if you pick them without the stem.

Anyway, 200 g on Tuesday (I’m not sure if I photographed the whole 200, or if it’s only 100 and I picked another 100 later) – eaten for breakfast that day with some basil, salt and olive oil.

On Wednesday, 100 g for lunch – no photo.

Thursday, 300 g in the morning, half of them for the scrambled eggs I ate for breakfast, the other half for lunch.

And then another 300 of Rose Quartz Multiflora and 200 of Golden Currant and Tess’s Land Race (didn’t weigh the currant tomatoes separately – they grow all tangled up together, so I tend to pick them together as well) for dinner.

I made pasta with tomato and mushroom sauce, of which I didn’t take a picture, because I had a friend over. It’s weird enough to say, “I can’t start cooking quite yet, even though we’re starving, because I need to take a picture of my harvest” (then again, she was out taking pictures of my balcony garden, so…) but taking a picture of the finished meal was a bit much.

We also ate some Galapagos tomatoes and a few ‘Coyote’s fresh off the vine, I’m guessing about 50 g. No pictures, obviously.

Friday morning, another 100 g of Rose Quartz Multiflora for lunch (making it 1 kg in total) and 10 g of radish seed pods for my scrambled eggs.

Oh yeah, and lots of chives – I was eating a lot of scrambled eggs because I needed to finish up that carton of eggs, and I can’t eat scrambled eggs without chives.

In the evening, 125 g of Swiss chard – I haven’t eaten any chard in ages. Just didn’t feel like it, and there is so much of it! I don’t want to think about how many leaves I’ve had to cut off and throw out because it’d gone yellow or dry.

And lots of flower-of-an-hour seeds – no food, but a harvest is a harvest. I nicked some seeds from the Arche Noah garden years ago, and have been trying to grow them to get more seeds ever since. This was the first year they really grew well, and now I have more seeds than I need.

Anyway, fried eggs, potatoes and chard for dinner (and finally I’d eaten the last eggs!)


No real harvests during the weekend – it’s been too hot to want to go out on the balcony if it’s not absolutely necessary, and also there are a lot of wasps out there. Early in the morning, when they’re still asleep, I can still pick tomatoes, but I don’t get up that early during the weekend.

But I did get a bean on Sunday. Yes, one single bean – one of the purple ‘Blauhilde’ ones this time. I tossed it in with some other beans from the farm when I was cooking dinner.

In addition to my balcony garden, I also get to harvest free stuff from other people’s gardens – apples at Mrs T.’s (and I think I haven’t eaten such good apples since I was fifteen), and peppers, eggplants and crazy amounts of cucumbers from my  bosses’ greenhouse (I could get tomatoes, too, but I don’t really need any more of those!)- now if only I’d have somewhere to get free corn… then again, I love going to the form once a week… in any case, I love not depending on the supermarket for all of my food!

As always, check Daphne’s Dandelions to see what other garden bloggers are harvesting!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 21:15

    I am jealous of all your ‘maters!

  2. August 23, 2011 17:16

    All of that from a balcony? Sheesh! You have gotten more tomatoes than I have so far… and I have 19 plants. 🙂

    They look delicious though. Hope you are enjoying them!

    • August 23, 2011 20:54

      Yup, one balcony, six plants – they’re really going crazy this year!

  3. August 24, 2011 04:58

    Whoa. For a balcony garden that is an insane amount of tomatoes. And when mixed with the eggs, it all looks great!

  4. August 26, 2011 17:17

    I don’t think I’ve ever eaten eggs with chives. Green onions yes, but never chives. I’ll have to try that early in the spring.

    • August 26, 2011 18:50

      I actually find it hard to eat eggs without chives. Whatever you’re used to, right?

Leave a Reply

