Skip to content

September Calendar Picture

September 1, 2011

No connection between this picture and this month – I just didn’t know what else to use. And it’s pretty.

I don’t even know what it is – some kind of cactus, but that’s one of the few areas where my plant identification abilities are definitely lacking.

I took this picture quite some time ago, in May 2008, at the botanical garden in Munich. I spent a week or so travelling around Germany, visiting friends, family and botanical gardens, that May (at the apprenticeship place, getting time off in May wasn’t nearly as difficult as at the teeny-tiny village nursery – all it took was the claim that I needed to go to Germany to see a friend from Canada. Which was true, too.) and Munich was both my last stop, and by far the most impressive botanical garden I’ve seen so far.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 23:43

    That would be an Epiphyllum cactus, commonly called the Orchid cacti

    • September 2, 2011 00:11

      Thanks – I’ll edit that in… if I remember tomorrow – really gotta go to bed now!

Leave a Reply

