Skip to content

Harvest Monday – September 26, 2011

September 26, 2011

Nothing much to show this week. I’ve been too busy with my “Sirhoy cleaning” to have much time for harvesting. Or rather, to have much time for cooking, and I only harvest what I need for cooking.

Monday, I finally thinned my rainbow carrots – I doubt the others will get much bigger this year, it’s pretty late after all, but at least now they’ve got a chance.

I put them in the noodle soup I made for dinner that day:

I usually have a lot of noodles and little stock, but this was a bit extreme even for me. I had the Clown Brother over that evening, and he was (as he does so often) refusing to eat anything solid at all, so I gave him most of the stock – to drink out of a cup, since he told me he was “full” after about five spoonfuls – and then drank cup after cup!

As you can see, I also harvested chives. Also parsley and basil, and lots of tomatoes, 730 g according to my list, though I don’t have a single picture. I remember trying to take one once, but my camera had gone AWOL (that’s what comes of cleaning and tidying up  – can’t find a thing afterwards!) and I can’t even remember what I was trying to take a picture of.

Friday was the equinox, beginning of autumn, one of the days when I traditionally sit down and take the time to think about what I am grateful for. It seemed a fitting day to look at all the things in the fridge that I got for free in the last week:

Clockwise from top left: tomatoes, cucumbers, pepper, all from my bosses – they always fill one of the hoop houses with vegetables, and always end up having far too many; apples from Mrs T.’s garden – this is actually a small bag, I usually have more than this; a fish (what kind? I don’t know) that my best friend’s boyfriend caught and gave me because I share Mrs T.’s apples with them; sweet potatoes, also from work – they’re pretty unknown as food plants here, but we grow them as ornamentals, and I ended up digging through one of the planters that had been dumped on the compost heap… haven’t tried them yet, and I don’t know if I’ll like them, but free food is free food; “baby” zucchini, again from my bosses; cabbage from the farm, which I got for free because it’s damaged and the farmer didn’t want to charge me for something I might not be able to eat. I’m grateful to all of them.

And celebrated that gratitude by cooking some of these free things for dinner:

If you want to see more harvest pictures, head on over to Daphne’s Dandelions – Daphne herself doesn’t have a lot of pictures this week, either, but some of the other Harvest Monday participants might.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 02:17

    veggies look yummy. Nice Post
    thanks for sharing.

  2. September 27, 2011 02:32

    I was a bit worried that the fish came from your garden…

    • September 27, 2011 07:10

      Well, I was thinking about creating a little pond there for my Cyperuses and lotuses!

Leave a Reply

