Skip to content

An Award… For Me?!

September 28, 2011

Thought process when turning on the computer on Monday:

Thought # 1: Nice, a comment!

Thought # 2: Wow, an award?! For me?!

Thought # 3: But, but, but – I can’t think of fifteen blogs to pass this on to!

Thought # 4: Silly Ivy, calm down, it’s a blog award, not a school assignment!

Sandy M. at Bibliophage’s Buffet has given me the Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you, Sandy!

The rules:

1. Thank and link the person who nominated you. (done)

2. Share seven random facts about yourself.

3. Pass this award on to 15 blogging friends.

4. Contact and congratulate the awarded bloggers

So, seven random facts – should be easy, right? It’s actually surprisingly difficult. Let’s see:

1. I don’t mind a messy room at all, but I can’t stand a dirty room. To clean, though, I generally have to tidy up first, which I find rather annoying.

2. I wear shoes as little as possible. The thing I hate most about wearing shoes is not being able to pick stuff up with my toes.

3. For years, I used to write my name into my books with a quill.

4. When the Carpenter Brother was born, I greeted the news with a very unenthusiastic “Another boy?”

5. I’ve never broken a bone or had surgery (and now I worry I’ve jinxed it, and I’ll find myself in hospital soon!)

6. I don’t have a middle name, and am insanely jealous of people who do.

7. I thought I hated chocolate until I was sixteen, when I discovered dark chocolate, and realized I only hated milk chocolate.

So, seven facts are done, but fifteen blogs? Not going to happen. I simply don’t read that many blogs any more. And I’m not exactly versatile in what I read – mostly indoor gardening blogs!

Let’s see how many I can find…

1. Tom at Theatrum Botanicum started blogging about (mostly house)plants around the same time I did.

2. Liza at Good to Grow owns and blogs about her small plant-care business in Albuquerque, as well as other mostly plant-related stuff.

3. Mr_Subjunctive at Plants are the Strangest People, I’m not convinced he’ll have time to play, between caring for about 1000 houseplants (and two pets), running a houseplant tournament and his regular daily posts – but he’s the houseplant blogger, it wouldn’t seem right to leave him out!

4. Martha at Plowing Through Life is probably the most versatile among these bloggers – in addition to houseplants and her garden, there are recipes, quizzes, jokes…

5. Karen715 at Life Among the Leaves writes about … guess what? … houseplants, and I think it was her blog that made me think, well, I could blog about mine as well!

6. Kenneth Moore at The Indoor Garden(er) is another houseplant blogger (duh!) who has recently moved from Washington DC to Saudi Arabia and back – I haven’t followed his blog closely in a while (just too much to do!) but it’s thanks to him that I found out the mystery plant at work is an Amorphophallus.

7. Andrew at Plant Zone is another blogger I have “ignored” a little recently – more houseplants (what a surprise, right?), and growing unusual stuff from seed.

So, seven facts, seven blogs, I’ll leave it at that – and I really need to clean up my bookmarks, remove all those seemingly abandoned blogs… and find myself some new ones.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 06:46

    Ack. I meant to acknowledge this earlier but in fact was, as you predicted, too busy.

    I appreciate the sentiment, though I don’t generally participate in these sorts of things: there are all those awkwardnesses about who you pick and don’t pick, and it’s easier just to avoid the whole thing. (Also, if somebody wanted to know what I’m reading, I have a blogroll at PATSP already, so it seems sort of pointless.)

  2. October 17, 2011 07:10

    I didn’t really expect you to participate 🙂 – I had some serious doubts about whether I would. So don’t worry about it!

Leave a Reply

