Skip to content

October Calendar Picture

October 1, 2011

One of my mother’s plants – Aechmea fasciata.

It was a housewarming gift from my grandmother when we moved into the flat after my parents’ divorce. (Why do so many of these calendar pictures touch on that? Probably because I took a lot of pictures around the time we moved.)

Aechmea fasciata is one of the plants that’s closely tied to my grandmother for me. She gave me one when I was a kid, which I had for years. It never bloomed (I suspect it had actually done that before she gave it to me), and it never got any offsets, but it stayed alive until I grew sick of scratching my hands on it and threw it out (which suggests I’d started to work by then, and had grown a lot more callous about killing plants).

It’s also one of the few plants I knew by botanical name before I started my apprenticeship – probably the first plant I knew by botanical name long before I ever found out a German one. I had a picture book about rainforests since I was in primary school (I remember buying it at a book fair at school), and it showed a picture of an Aechmea as an example for Bromeliads.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 16:04

    So pretty! I wish I had space for bromeliads…but they just don’t look good crammed up in the jungle

  2. October 1, 2011 18:20

    That’s why I don’t have any either (this was my mother’s plant).

Leave a Reply

