Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 10, 2011

October 10, 2011

This was a week for root vegetables, and also a week for last tomatoes and last apples.

I didn’t harvest anything at all for the first four days of the week. It’s just too dark in the mornings now, I couldn’t pick tomatoes before work any more (so instead, I got some of the radishes my bosses are growing. I actually prefer them to tomatoes now that it gets colder.)

On Friday, I got what will probably the last apples from Mrs T.’s garden (and this time actually picked them from the tree, instead of collecting the ones lying on the lawn.)

I can’t weigh them, because my kitchen scales only go to 0.5 kg – I weighed one of the larger apples once, and it was 0.4 kg! So I guess that basket is about 5 to 6 kg. Along with another basketful of apples from my grandmother, I should have enough for a few more weeks – with the cooler temperatures, they should keep for a while. I’ve already made another apple pie and made some more dried apples – the last for this year, I guess. (And I gave some apples to my best friend again, along with some chestnuts – I’ll get another fish in return, yum!)

(Poor Mrs T. was home for a few days, but is already back at hospital, because she’s in so much pain. I’ll be honest, I don’t like her – I like the tips she gives, and I like the free fruit I get from her garden, and I like her cats, but I know I’m not going to miss her if she doesn’t come home again. I will however miss the cats if they are given away, and I’ll miss the cherries and apples if I can’t get them any more.)

Anyway.

On Friday, I started my autumn clean-up by re-planting the window boxes. Out came the sweet potatoes and the Oxalises, in went the horned pansies.

The sweet potato with the chartreuse leaves, pretty as it was, was something of a disappointment. The tubers, weighing in at 0.18 kg, were hardly thicker than my fingers. I don’t know how much of that is due to the variety, and how much to lack of fertilizer, and how much to the fact that the roots were all so tangled up, wrapped around and around, that they simply didn’t have space to grow any bigger.

The other variety with the purple leaves was better – 0.4 kg and some decent-sized tubers as well. Funnily, the chartreuse variety (‘Marguerite’, I think) has red-skinned tubers, and the purple (‘Blackie’?) white-skinned ones.

I quite know what to do with them yet – sweet potatoes are pretty “exotic” here, and I can only remember eating them once, when I was a kid, and then I didn’t like them at all, because I expected them to taste like a regular potato.

As I mentioned before, I also got a surprise harvest of 0.4 kg of “lucky clover” (Oxalis tetraphylla) tubers. Again, I don’t know what to do with them yet.

On Saturday, I killed my tomato plants, and harvested the last tomatoes. The 0.25 kg that were ripe, I took to Vienna for the first NaNoWriMo planning meeting. I love having a homegrown “snack” to bring!

The still-green ones, I’ll just keep in the kitchen and use them as they ripen.

As usual, click on over to Daphne’s Dandelions for more harvests from around the world – Daphne’s pictures are making me hungry!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 03:12

    That sweet potato harvest sounds super disappointing. I LOVE all the different varieties of tomatoes though! I didn’t end up having much of a garden this year, just some tomatoes. I had to pull them out last weekend.

  2. October 11, 2011 07:02

    Oh well – it’s still more than I got last year (then, the sweet potatoes ended up in a somewhat dark spot, and I didn’t get any harvest at all!)
    Besides, I still need to figure out if I even like them.

Leave a Reply

