Skip to content

On Time This Year

October 11, 2011

Someone got the memo this year: It’s autumn!

Last year, it didn’t go dormant for ages – I think it was a little confused. I moved it from a chilly compost heap to my warm room, and then from my dark, north-facing room to the south-facing kitchen window when I moved – I can just imagine it thinking, “Huh… I thought it was autumn – but suddenly there is so much more light. Guess it’s not time to go to sleep after all!”

But this year, right on cue – right when I brought everything in from the balcony, it went dormant (the leaf actually fell out of the pot when I picked it up to take the picture – I had to prop it up against the wall) to free up windowsill-space for something else that needs the light.

Someone else, however, didn’t get the memo – “Summer dormancy? Nobody told me!” the Albuca spiralis is saying:

Several of the plants at work just went dormant whether we watered them or not, so I expected mine to do the same – but no. It just kept on growing and growing. Not that I’m complaining – I’ll take as much of the curly leaves as I can, don’t need the flowers at all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 03:50

    I AM SO JEALOUS OF YOUR ALBUCA! I have 2 of them and they’re not NEARLY as spiraly and wonderful. Neither of them observed their summer dormancy either (and they also refused to flower last year). My Amorphophallus went dormant at like the beginning of september…so now I’m afraid it didn’t store enough energy. The corm is way tinier this year than it was last year 😦

  2. October 12, 2011 07:04

    I haven’t looked at my corm yet, but I do hope it’s bigger.
    The Albuca, I think, really loved spending the summer on the balcony.

Leave a Reply

