Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2011

October 15, 2011

Even though the weather has turned rather chilly, some of the flowers on the balcony are still going strong:

My three-colour Lantana tree, finally looking like I wanted it to look.

Impatiens walleriana

Snapdragon (Antirrhinum majus)

Bog Sage (Salvia uliginosa) – peeking up through the Volcanic Sorrel

Germander Sage (Salvia chamaedryoides)? Still not sure about the name, but I love, love, love the colour!

The passionflower gave me one last bloom after I’d brought it inside – I accidentally cut off the rest of the buds when I cut it back.

On the kitchen window sill flowers are blooming inside…

… and outside:

These violas replaced the sweet potatoes and Oxalis in the window boxes – I’m leaving in the chard (after removing the mildewed leaves), I’ll see how long it survives. I’m planning to plant a couple more on the balcony this weekend (yellow and blue ones), but whether I will actually find the time remains to be seen.

~*~*~*~

Speaking of time, I hope you’ve got more of it than me, and can check out all the other GBBD posts over at May Dreams Gardens. Thanks for hosting, Carol!

~*~*~*~

Edited to add:

My new purchases:

We’re out of blue violas at work, but the garden centre closest to where I live had cuter ones anyway – four different varieties, even. I’ll buy the yellow ones at work, though – because we’ve got the cuter yellow ones. (Besides, they’re cheaper… for me, anyway.)

And found at the work table in my bedroom:

I dug those out of the window boxes and dumped them in a box on the work table, waiting for them to go dormant – but they don’t seem to want to do that yet! No water, little light, and yet they keep on blooming!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 14:49

    I have no more time than you, 🙂 but I’m glad I spent some of it stopping by your post. What encouragement to see your blooms! Snapdragons! And, oh, the salvia is beautiful. I’m in the deep south, zone 8A, and I learned recently to plant perennials in the fall. Well, try and find any, especially salvia. Ah, but I’ll try again in the spring.

    • October 15, 2011 16:48

      Haha, yeah, the “when you should plant” and “when you can get it” rarely match up! I remember trying to find strawberries or rhubarb when it was the right time to plant them, back when I still had a proper garden – not a chance. Working at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery, I’ve learned that plants just sell best at the time when they’re blooming all over the place, because that makes people think, “oh, I should plant some of those” – never mind if it’s a good time to plant or not.

  2. October 16, 2011 00:09

    Lovely flowers. Happy GBBD.

  3. October 16, 2011 22:07

    I’m having passiflora envy.

    • October 16, 2011 22:24

      Just wait until I manage to post the pics from the botanical garden… whenever that will be.

      • October 16, 2011 23:05

        ::sigh:: I need to stay off the internet. I think I just want every plant ever.

      • October 17, 2011 07:08

        Me too – but I’d also have to stay out of botanical gardens, nurseries and bookshops that have houseplant books.

  4. October 16, 2011 22:22

    I love those Lantana flowers, they’re so cute!

    • October 16, 2011 22:26

      Cute enough to excuse the mess they make, and the bugs they attract 😉

  5. October 18, 2011 00:45

    Love those little Oxalis flowers!

  6. October 18, 2011 07:22

    Me too – that’s why I have so many Oxalises!

Leave a Reply

