Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 17, 2011

October 17, 2011

This was a week for kohlrabi.

I harvested an oddly-shaped and small (175 g) one Monday to eat with my lunch sandwiches – as I’ve probably mentioned before, I can’t eat a sandwich without some sort of vegetable, and I’m out of tomatoes. Didn’t take a picture, though.

On Thursday and Friday, I had peppers instead (because as much as I love kohlrabi, my digestive tract doesn’t love it so much… makes me rather unfit for company, especially in a closed room, if you know what I mean. And I wanted to go to medieval dance on Thursday night.)

My pepper plants have been quite silly – all summer, they didn’t do anything, and now in the last couple of weeks, they’re growing like crazy. The peppers are still on the small side, though, with the biggest ones reaching all of 40 g. They are also, it seems, completely impossible to get a good picture of (though I probably should blame my camera instead).

Those Hungarian peppers are the only variety I really like, and, in my opinion, the variety most worth growing myself – you can get them in stores, but only in big packages, and what’s a single girl supposed to do with ten peppers? I can’t ever eat them all before they go all wrinkly, or worse, mouldy.

On Friday, I finally used some of last week’s research – some of the sweet potatoes (which still taste a little strange to me, but I think I can get used to the taste, so I’ll plant more next year) and the “lucky clover” tubers (steamed, then fried with the meat… I still think they have a kohlrabi-like texture, but taste rather bland).

On Saturday, I harvested my two biggest kohlrabis (200 and 280 g).

One very oddly-shaped, and the other with a hole in it, but still big enough that I ended up only using one for my vegetable soup. I don’t know yet what I will do with the other one. Eating it for lunch is not such a good idea if I’ll spend the week in the back of the shop making stupid floral arrangements for All Saints’ Day, instead of outside or in drafty greenhouses…

I also harvested some herbs – chives and the last of the basil – and collected some walnuts. There are a lot of them behind one of our greenhouses at work, but most of them are broken – they hit the ground with so much force that they crack themselves open! And I’m not going to take already-cracked nuts because I don’t know if they’re still good.

On Sunday night, after checking the weather forecast, I hurried out to pick the last peppers, including some tiny little baby peppers (100 g in all).

Then I grabbed a couple of sticks as “tent stakes” and draped a huge piece of thick fleece over them – the first freeze of the year! While I’m sure most of the plants that are still out can handle a light freeze (and it probably won’t even get that cold on the balcony), better safe than sorry.

~*~*~*~

As always, check out the other posts at Daphne’s Dandelions!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 05:18

    I love challenging myself to make optimal use of what the garden is providing at any given moment. Some crops are easier than others though. I like kohlrabi cut up into dices and then tossed with my favorite sweet slaw dressing. 3/4 cup mayo plus 1/8 cup of maple syrup plus 1/8 cup of lemon juice and a dash of ground nutmeg all whisked together. This dressing is particularly nice on slaws made with turnips, radishes, or kohlrabi.

  2. October 18, 2011 07:21

    I’d try it, but maple syrup is pretty hard to come by here. I don’t think I’ve ever had it.

Leave a Reply

